Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2003
I have been making this for a solid 5 years and has been a hit everytime! But I always add something green, usually chopped green onions and place 4-5 stalk on top befor baking to make it visually appealing. You can also add chopped can chiles or diced pimentos (in a jar) for great color. And using low fat sour cream tastes exactly the same too. But after 5 years, and using 3 different ovens, this dish always takes about 50-55 min. to bake, not 45 min. Can also make ahead and refridgerate before you need to bake, just let it sit at room temperature for at least 30-45 min. Great for making ahead for a dinner party. Be sure to print out recipes because you will get asked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1462 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
This really is very easy. I wanted to "test drive" this dish before Thanksgiving and I have now made it twice for my husband. It's made the cut! We think that it reminds us of hushpuppies so we call it "Hushpuppy Casserole." The first time I made this I added the extra water from the canned corn, as suggested. That made it overly moist. This time I poured in only half of the corn water and we both thought the dish was better (it was a little firmer). I agree that real butter is the best (but the first time I used margarine, and it tasted fine!) My mother-in-law suggested adding bacon, too. I find, depending on the dish, it might take longer to bake than you were planning on. Still, nothing beats this dish--YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
591 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
Has anyone ever made this in advance? I'd like to make it for Thanksgiving and it would be so much easier if I could just make it the night before. HELP!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
550 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2003
I've made this casserole for Thanksgiving the last two years. There is never a crumb left! Everyone loves it. I make it with only 3 TBSP melted butter and 1 egg, plus 1/2 cup chopped onion. This makes it lighter and more savory. I bake it at 350 for 1 hour. Another plus to this recipe is when I make it for Thanksgiving I double it and put it in my 9x13 Pyrex portable glass pan with a microwaveable warmer. I make it earlier, then bring a great side dish that doesn't require valuable oven space!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
285 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
This is definitely on the top of the list of requests for dinner sides. I have made it full fat and reduced fat and still have the same great response! I use a 1/2 cup of egg beaters, reduced fat sour cream and margarine (instead of butter). Bake at 375 for an hour and 15 minutes; it turns out beautifully. LOVE THIS ONE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
177 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by POCHICKA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westfield, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Montclair, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2003
I LOVED THIS RECIPE!! and so did everyone of our guests! Not one drop was left! I would just add a bit less butter...I used a clean dish towel to absorb the excess oil from the butter on top when it was done. added grated cheddar cheese, chopped red bell pepper cause they are sweeter than the green ones..Other wise, leave the recipe like it is ! Thanks Ruthie, you done yourself good! Happy Memorial Day , Yes ! Because of this casserole! IT is now a favorite of ours!~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelliegirl21

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2002
This was fabulous! It tasted like corn pudding-perfect with chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2002
This has quickly become a much-requested new family favorite! Nothing but compliments from everyone from grandparents through my very finicky husband and five children with completely different tastes in most things! ;) Last time added a bit of chopped onion into batter and crumbled bacon on top and it was a welcome addition. A recipe well worth trying! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joyfulmotherof5

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hartselle, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2002
Even my picky son, who doesn't like ANYTHING new, tried this and liked it. Definitely a keeper. We tried this later with 2lb of sage sausage cooked and crumbled into the batter before baking. Awesome is definitely the word for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
I have found the best way to cook this recipe is to take 1 stick of butter and put it in a 9x12 glass pyrex baking dish. Put it in the oven at 350 until it melts. Swish it around until the butter covers the entire bottom of the dish. Mix together the other ingredients (omitting the 1/2 cup of butter) and just pour over the top of the butter without mixing. This is the same concept as the cobbler recipe I have seen and used. Then, just bake it uncovered until it puffs up and is nicely browned on the top. The butter gives it a crispy texture and is delicious. I have doubled this recipe also. Last time, I even added one egg and it didn't seem to really make that much difference. IT will be all gone I can guarantee it!! I think I baked mine almost an hour the last time. If yo double it, it may take a little longer. Good Luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole

This creamy casserole is like a cross between corn soufflé and corn pudding.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Make Corn Pudding

Learn how to make corn pudding, a classic part of the American harvest menu.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States