Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
I didn't have Jiffy so I used the following ingredients to substitute for the Jiffy: 2/3 cup all-purpose flour 1/2 cup yellow cornmeal 3 tablespoons granulated sugar 1 tablespoon baking powder 1/4 teaspoon salt 2 tablespoons vegetable oil After making this a couple of times at full fat, I decided to play around and was able to substitute Fat Free Greek Gods Yogurt for the Sour Cream. The only trick to that is to add a Tablespoon of Vinegar to the milk and let it sit for five minutes. Without doing that, it makes the casserole bland. Trust me, it's good! I also replaced half of the butter once with coconut oil and once with butter flavored shortening. Both are fine substitutions. I use a 50/50 mix of white and wheat flour and usually bake with powdered eggs (don't cringe) and this recipe gets eaten no matter how much I play around with it. I have to agree with (and thank) the other reviewers that this needs around an hour in the over. I set my timer at 55 minutes and just keep an eye on it. For those who are oven checkers, the casserole doesn't drop no matter how many times you check in on it! Enjoy~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RobinStyler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
It was soupy. Needs tweaking. Be smarter than me and take reader's notes on how to make it tastier before you make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lake Worth, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
I've been making this recipe for the past 7 years at Thanksgiving and Easter and it continues to get rave reviews from the family. However, I always have to bake it longer than it's called for because I don't like for it to be soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
It was fine. A little too much egg taste. I added onions as some reviews suggested. May try it again with less egg, cheese, no onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Just good. And we used no fat sour cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
Just made this for a church pot-luck supper. Not a bite of it was left. Definitely a keeper. Only thing I changed was to double the recipe. It's nice to have a dish that I can brag on a little. This will reappear at family reunions and maybe Thanksgiving. If you love corn, this recipe is for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
My kids absolutely adore this recipe. It is quick and very easy to make. I'll eat it, but am not a huge fan, hence the four stars vs 5 for the rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by torianne31

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harlem, Georgia, USA
Living In: Willow Spring, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
I am engaged to a midwestern guy who is obsessed w/ casseroles, so I have been relying on All Recipes for some new recipes. (I tend to cook spicy food.) He LOVED this casserole and immediately said I should rate it 5/5 stars! My only change---next time I would leave the casserole in the oven 5-10 extra minutes. Yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
This is the same recipe I've made for years, and am asked to bring it to every gathering. BUT I add a pinch of salt, dash of pepper, 8 drops of Tobasco, and a Tablespoon or so of sugar, and sometimes add shredded cheddar to the top the last 10 minutes. It's great as written, but the additions give that something extra that stands out. I'll just say: one time there were 4 pans of corn casserole at a reunion, and people asked which one i made, and I always make a double batch, and there is never any left. The pickiest of eaters loved it, and literally Everytime I take it somewhere, people ask for the recipe. I discovered this in my early 20s, and my grandmother, great aunt, mom, mom-in-law, sister-in-law, aunts have all asked for the recipe, and despite it being so simple, having a signature dish that my elders loved so much, made me feel very proud. Even though they have the recipe, they still ask me to make it, Bc its 'my recipe' . And its so forgiving and so easy! This recipe will always have a special place in my heart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
It is so addicting and even better the next day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 2,133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole

This creamy casserole is like a cross between corn soufflé and corn pudding.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States