Award Winning Peaches and Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
This was pretty good! I was looking for a fruit dessert to serve with tonight's Easter dinner. I am picky when it comes to pies, so maybe that's why this appealed to me. I wouldn't consider this a pie. It's more like a shortcake.... the crust is dense & cake-like w/ a thick pudding topping enveloping the peaches. So here's my take on this.... You know those Dole peaches & creme fruit parfait cups near the canned fruits aisle??? Take that, "lace" it w/ a shortcake crust & you've got a good idea of what this pie is like. I usually only make slight modifications the 1st time I try a recipe, but after reading all the reviews on here, I decided to make some add'l. changes. First, I pre-baked my crust for 10 min., then as SAMHOPKINS suggested, I too brushed mine w/ egg white (but be careful as the crust will not be completely set!). I then added almost an entire 29 oz. can of peach slices (I ate the rest!). I used my 8 1/4 x 1 1/2 in. Pampered Chef deep dish pie plate, and despite this, I had no prob. w/ bubbling over, etc. (I did carefully spread my cream cheese mixture to w/in 1 in. of the edge as directed, which no doubt helped with that). I found the 1 T / 1 t sugar to cinnamon ratio to be spot on (don't skimp on this!!!). Since I made my pie one night prior, it had plenty of time to "set up" - and it did perfectly! My parents raved (I sent them home w/ leftovers). I'm not sure I'd make this again for myself, but am glad I tried it nonetheless! Thanks for sharing, Debbie. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Photo by Veronica
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
Wonderful! I took some advice from the other reviews and pre baked the crust for 10 min brushed with egg whites and baked for 5 more. I also didn't use all of the crust mixture thinking it would be too thick for my 9.5in pan. I also added a tbs of brown sugar to sweeten it and a tsp of ginger. With the cream cheese topping i added a tsp of vanilla. Wonderful Wonderful pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williston, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
I like the dessert warm. I didn't like it cold at all. I followed the suggestions of the other users and doubled the recipe. I cooked the crust for 5 mins and then added the peaches. I used a 9x13 pan and baked for 30 mins. I don't think I'll be making this again. It just didn't tickle my taste buds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by piercedambition

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
If you love cream cheese, you'll love this dessert! I'm not huge on peaches or cream cheese, but everybody else loved it. It was definitely better the next day as the peach flavor set in. I would prefer more peaches and less cream cheese though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
OMG, this was sooo delicious. I followed the recipe just as it called for. It turned out good. I think it's more like a cake cobbler though. Any way call it what you like. It's good! We ate the entire pie in one night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Montclair, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I was excited to make this but, sorry to say, so hard to believe award winning. A few people ate it, I think, just to be nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
I've made this recipe several times and it is always received well. I find that the pie "sets" better when it has been chilled. I've tried serving as it cooled from coming out of the oven, and although it was yummy and loved, it had not had time to form well so was not very pretty for presentation purposes. Will definately continue to make as it is a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
This is a family favorite and I take it everywhere and it is always a huge hit. I use instant pudding but do not alter in any other way. I true keeper for any baker!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somerville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Aside from doubling and putting in a 13x9 dish, I made this exactly as written. This was really pretty good as far as flavor. However, the crust layer was just way too thick and cakey for my taste. It didn't taste bad; just overbearing. I think there's too much crust and not enough peaches. It did taste better after a couple of days, as some others had noted. Sitting in the fridge allowed the moisture of the peaches to soften up that thick crust a bit, creating a better texture than it initially had. Overall, pretty tasty. I would just prefer something I didn't have to wait three days to truly enjoy. So maybe next time, I will cut the crust in half or add another can of peaches; maybe both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cnash81

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
YUMMY for my tummy. I donated one of these to a Pie Social, they were raising money for a building in our old village.. The ladies who were hosting it, couldn't resist, they bought it and ate it right there! Just follow the directions very carefully - tried it later with Strawberries, not as good.. I really liked it with peaches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandolynnd
Living In: Cordova, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 725) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States