Award Winning Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
I just want to thank you for this delicious recipe. I won first place at my work's first ever chili cook-off. The only thing I did differently was substitute stewed tomatoes for fire roasted tomatoes, added one can of mild chili beans, one good teaspoon of cocoa powder, and added chili powder to my desired hotness. I did not add any carrotts. I found that is was a little thick at first so I added water occasionally until I achieved a good consistency, that was my preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I'm a big fan of chili but make mine way WAAAY to hot for the average person and thus I've not been breaking the top three in our annual chili cookoff. I tried this recipe tonight and so far it's delicious. I used ground sirloin and due to the dryness of the beef I had to add one can of tomato sauce to balance out the moisture. To give it my signature heat, I added three habaneros. I did not add the carrots, celery, cilantro or parsley, solely because I know what these judges like. I'll try to report back tomorrow how the event goes. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
This is an amazing Chili. I make it all the time and get rave reviews. I pretty much follow the recipe as is and it is always a crowd pleaser. It's easy to make so it's become one of my go to recipes when I am having a crowd for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Best chili we've had. All our friends loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I made this and it was awesome!!! Even my daughter loved it and normally she eats one bowl of my chili but she ate two with this time. It was a little to thick for us but I added some tomato juice to thin it out to the way I liked it. I didn't add no carrots to mine and it still came out great. I recommend this recipe. Even your picky eaters will like this. It's also good on nachos and baked potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelle37185

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waverly, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
This has been my go-to chili recipe for >10 years. Yes, it's been on the site that long! Over the years, some things happen that make you flex a bit. Like oops - no white wine. Fine, use vinegar. Actually I might prefer the tanginess! The veggies, if I'm missing one or the other, I don't sweat it, but I do definitely try to get them in. The carrots are different, but they add some color and texture. If I'm missing tomato paste, it's still fine. It's better with the bacon, and it's better with the steak sauce. Family has come over and I've had leftovers on hand, and they have literally told me it's the best chili they've ever had. Well done Jennifer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
Recipe was good. Made it exactly as described.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
This is our go to chili recipe. I have been making it longer than I can remember. Recently, I made another recipe based on what I had on hand....to which a disappointed husband followed. Reminded me of how much we love this recipe and wanted to make sure I came on to give it five stars! I do not make any changes only to simmer longer so the carrots are soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Excellent! I was a little skeptical of the carrot, bacon and A1 sauce. We all have our chili recipes and I of course thought, carrots don't go in chili. I urge you to try this recipe as is. All the flavors blend together beautifully and it is now my only chili recipe. I don't make chili weekly, so it's worth a little extra effort. I did thin it with a little tomato juice (that's what I had open in the fridge) as it was a tad to thick for me. Thank you Jennifer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYSUNSHINE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 342) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States