Award Winning Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
I substituted ground turkey and added extra veggies. I also lengthened the simmer time to make the turkey more tender. A great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
This is a great recipe and won our annual chili cook-off at work. As others noted, it is a thick chili. I left out the carrot & celery, and substituted a can of crushed tomatoes and diced tomatoes for the stewed tomatoes. I also added a can of tomato sauce. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Chili cook off in the office... I google 'award winning chili' make it and end up the people's choice! I don't even like chili. I didn't use celery/carrot. I cooked my meat with 2 cloves of garlic in additional. Also liberally used Tony Chachere's seasoning!! Thinned out with water and spaghetti sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Super Grubben!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sixponies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Very good chili. I agree with s lot of the other reviewers - I would not add the carrot next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
No doubt the best chili I have ever eaten and I eat lots of chili! It's the steak sauce that makes it! There is no heat in this so I added my own chili extract to spice it up a bit.the flavor is spot on. The last time I made this I added some chopped rib eye steak and it was great! I'm glad I found this recipe for sure. My belly thanks you Jennifer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
This chili is very good. I used beer instead of wine. that was the only change i made. I will say it kept me coming back for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catlvr

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
What an amazing recipe! Since we like our chili really hearty I added an extra red bell pepper and an extra onion. I also added 4 cloves of minced garlic. Thank you very much for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke Jauré
Home Town: Bow, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
I stayed as close to this recipe as I could. My only change is that I had a 1lbs of beef and 1/2lbs of pork sausage. Instead of steak sauce, I had hickory, brown sugar barbecue sauce. The rest was the same. This was a very thick chili that I had to add some beef stock/water to. If I didn't add anything, it would basically be sloppy joe mix. The flavor was outstanding and I personally loved the crunch that the carrots added to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
This was a great recipe! I came in second place in a recent chilli cook-off. I did make one change; I added diced cilantro to give it a more Latin flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 352) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States