Award Winning Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
The Best of the Best!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
This chili was pretty good. Mine turned out pretty thick so I added about 1/4 cup of water and 1/4 cup of V8 tomato juice and it was better. We might just like our chili a little thinner than most, I don't know. Also, next time I make this I won't add the carrots. They seemed a little out of place for me, but again I'm not a chili expert. Overall, its still a great tasting chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eriset

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
Great! I used tomato sauce instead of paste, white grape juice instead of wine, 1 lb beef instead of 1.5, and added an extra cup of broth to thin it out a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
Made this for my sister's Super Bowl party and it was a pretty big hit. I thinned it out a little with some water because I'm not one for a really thick chili. The next time I make it, I will omit the carrots as I think these turned some people off to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenPayne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wampum, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
I made quite a few changes to this, and boy was it great! If I haven't mentioned an ingredient in this review, it is because I used what was in the original recipe. I used 2 1/2 pounds of lean ground beef (I had about 10 people to feed and I like it meaty and thick), so I doubled the chili mix, the kidney beans, steak sauce, green and red pepper, as well as red pepper flakes and cumin. Instead of stewed tomatoes, I used one big (32 oz?) can of organic fire roasted chopped tomatoes with the juice. I did NOT add carrots or celery. I added about 1/4 to 1/2 tsp. of cayenne pepper, and about 5 tablespoons of fresh cilantro. Finally, I shook in some chili powder to taste. Of course I sprinkle this with freshly grated cheddar before serving and serve corn bread or muffins on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
323 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
This chili was awesome! My husband loves it. I followed people's advice. I used tomato sauce instead of tomato paste, and I used 2 cans of beans. It turned out amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
The name of this recipe is a misnomer. It's a *really* thick chili; it's more of a Sloppy Joe's than a chili. Changes we made: 1) We added 1 extra carrot, 2) twice as much red pepper flakes 3)replaced the white wine w/home brew (Scottish ale) and 4) nixed the celery and 5) we used ground turkey rather than beef. We didn't eat it as chili. We ate it inside steamed corn tortillas with irish cheddar, fresh cilantro and sour cream. Excellent way to eat it, by the way. Next time, we would add kidney beans and more veggies; we thought there was too much meat. Altogether it was a good recipe but we made a few changes to make it more healthy. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
I made this chilli for my friends on Super Bowl Sunday. Was A hit! Let Simmer all day in crock pot made the taste soak in even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BSLAAK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wattsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Edinboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
This recipe is GREAT, although I agree with others that it comes out too THICK as it is written here. What I did to thin it out was to add one 14.5 ounce can of tomato sauce and one 14.5 ounce can of chicken broth. I didn't use the carrot or the celery because I am not used to eating chili like that. I also used one large white onion and 1 medium green pepper. I loved the bacon addition and the steak sauce. I used garlic A1. I also added two cloves of crushed garlic in the mix of veggies. Yum Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
I worried about the ingredients going into this dish, but this Chili was AWESOME. Made it for a group at work and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 351) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States