Award Winning Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
I've never been able to make a good chili, and this was awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
I made this recipe exactly like it says and it was too spicy for me and my family. My children could not eat it. My husband said that it was even a little spicy for him. I probably won't make it again, but thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canal Flats, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
This turned out more like a stew than traditional chili. It wasn't spicy at all. On the plus side, it was colorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juicyfruit007

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longview, Texas, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
I truly enjoy making this chili. This recipe (with my own touches) has earned quite a bit of notariaty with my friends. I learned early on to double this recipe so all the people demanding seconds wouldn't be left without. I thought at first that the long list of ingredients would lead to a very confused chili, but the tastes blend perfectly. There is a lot of room to work with this recipe. I add an entire extra can of tomato sauce or paste depending on how thick I plan on serving the chili. I also double the amount of peppers used, including the red pepper flakes. To make a yummy vegan alternative, use a ground beef crumble substitute like Quorn in place of the beef. Use Bacon Bits to sub for the bacon to taste. The substitute beef tends to break down as it simmers, so don't use the initial consistancy as a basis for adding more water or tomato paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KUNGFUMUNKI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
We liked this...used 2 pounds of ground beef (my beef comes in 1# packages), used two cans of beans (black and kidney), used the carrot and celery but diced very small, added a can of tomato sauce. Served with tortillas and cheese. Will make again - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
I made this chili and it was a hit! Nice and thick, but I added some water to make it a little more soup-like. Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BacardiGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manly, Iowa, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
I still like my own chili a little better, but I will definitely make this again - was nice to have an interesting spin on chili. Thanks to previous reviewers, this recipe turned out perfect for us. I added 2 cups of beef bouillion, initially, and then an additional cup every subsequent day until it was gone (beans soak up the liquid). In order to cut fat, I rinsed my cooked hamburger under hot water and I used liquid smoke instead of bacon. We like this chili a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocolate_frenzie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
I have made this recipe 4 or 5 times in the past 6 months. It's very good and freezes well. I add a can of low sodium chicken broth and 2 small cans of no sodium tomato sauce. It's a little too thick otherwise. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
I used this recipe with slight changes to our cities chilli cookoff and we won first prize. The bbq sause and bacon really make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
The Best of the Best!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 350) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States