Award Winning Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
I had very high hopes for this recipe after reading all the great reviews. I followed the recipe exactly and we felt the steak sauce definately overpowered the chili! My entire family said they liked my chili recipe better than this recipe! I try different chili recipes once a month, unfortunately this was not award winning in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
Absolutely fabulous! I love this chili and have made it several times. I have a bunch of other chili recipes I have wanted to try, but I figure, why bother? This one does the trick for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
For me, it was pretty good chili-not the very best as I had hoped. I made it exactly as written. Note-I doubled it and it doesn't seem that it would really feed the 16 that it says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
I made this chili back in the fall of 2004 exactly as the recipe was written and it won me 1st place at our chili cookoff!! HUGE hit!! It won me 3rd place the following year (omitting the carrots) and 2nd place in 2006... Here's to 2007!!!! This is amazing chili!! I do agree that it can get a little thick, but I just add some water to it to thin it out. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Becht Norris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake In The Hills, Illinois, USA
Living In: Irmo, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
The steak sauce really makes this chili stand out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibi chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
People ask me for this recipe after they try it; it's a real crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COTERWAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
This Recipe was great. First time I ever made chili. I too left out the celery and carrots. They didn't have El Paso Chili seasoning, so I used Carrol Shelby's seasoning. I figured, if he could "spice-up" the Mustang, he could spice up my chili. I added about an extra cup of water when I used the seasoning on the beef, but other than that it was fantastic. Gave some to my pops who is very picky. I didn't want to tell him about the bacon (used thick sliced Oscar Meyer), but I did. The next day he told me it was great and he didn't mind the bacon which I feared he was going to. I also used the Tabasco Brand McIlhenny Co. Steak Sauce for that. I can't wait to bring this to the next Jets tailgate. At least I can look forward to a good chili, because lord knows, I wont be looking forward to a good football game ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
I loved this recipe! So did my fussy toddlers. I made it kid friendly by pureeing the veggies. They where non the wiser. Even my husband was surprised when I told him. I also added a teaspoon of cumin, it added a warm touch. Thanks a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AprilKelley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
I made this chilli and it was DELICIOUS. We had a friend over for dinner who is an excellent cook herself and she loved it. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
This is a great chili. It has a lot of flavor that is not masked by hot seasonings. There's no need for extras like cheese or sour cream--the recipe is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 349) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States