Award Winning Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
This Recipe was great. First time I ever made chili. I too left out the celery and carrots. They didn't have El Paso Chili seasoning, so I used Carrol Shelby's seasoning. I figured, if he could "spice-up" the Mustang, he could spice up my chili. I added about an extra cup of water when I used the seasoning on the beef, but other than that it was fantastic. Gave some to my pops who is very picky. I didn't want to tell him about the bacon (used thick sliced Oscar Meyer), but I did. The next day he told me it was great and he didn't mind the bacon which I feared he was going to. I also used the Tabasco Brand McIlhenny Co. Steak Sauce for that. I can't wait to bring this to the next Jets tailgate. At least I can look forward to a good chili, because lord knows, I wont be looking forward to a good football game ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
I loved this recipe! So did my fussy toddlers. I made it kid friendly by pureeing the veggies. They where non the wiser. Even my husband was surprised when I told him. I also added a teaspoon of cumin, it added a warm touch. Thanks a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AprilKelley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
I made this chilli and it was DELICIOUS. We had a friend over for dinner who is an excellent cook herself and she loved it. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
This is a great chili. It has a lot of flavor that is not masked by hot seasonings. There's no need for extras like cheese or sour cream--the recipe is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheCambodianCook
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
Award winning it is! I don't normally like chili, always thought they were boring soup. Yet with this one, I was satisfied with each bite :). Thanks for reviving the taste buds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCambodianCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
I see why it won an award! Everyone in my household fell in love with this recipe! Surely a keeper! Wouldn't change a thing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkins, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
YUMMY! I usually make a 24 serving batch and freeze the rest. When making that amount, I add an extra can of diced tomato and a can of tomato sauce. I also use the Chili Seasoning Mix II from this site instead of store packaged mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRANGIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
This is the best chili recipe! I ommitted the carrots though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Whittington-Washington

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Randallstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
Excellent chili! We loved the combination of flavors. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rock Island, Illinois, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
This chili is so good that I always double the recipe so that I can share with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 343) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States