Award Winning Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
What attracted me to this recipe was the variety of ingredients used, which I thought was unusual. I was leary about the carrots and celery, but I used my Pampered Chef Food chopper to chop them small, and it was fabulous! I made a few revisions to make a more "smoked" flavor. I used A-1 steak sauce, and Chardonnay wine. I added 3 tbsp of Hickory Smoke flavor, and 1/2 pound of bacon which made a huge difference. Most of the reviews for this recipe said it was too think so I did not use the tomato paste and I used 2 cans of Hunts fire roasted tomatoe's (keeping the juices and 2 cans of kidney beans (keeping the juices). I also added a can of Mexican corn (drained). My chili was a huge hit at a work related function.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkridge, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
My husband and I LOVE this recipe. Typically I omit the carrot, celery, and bell pepper. I also add about 2 tablespoons of brown sugar to the mixture. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tualatin, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
This was so good! I had to do lots of pureeing so my kids and husband didn't know what was in it, but the end result was surprisingly well-received. I pureed the onions, carrots, celery, peppers and beans. Also I used ranch beans instead of kidney beans just due to personaly preference. The recipe didn't specify which type of white wine so I used Chablis. I made the chili around lunch time and then put it in the crockpot with 1/2 cup of beef broth. It was the perfect consistency at dinnertime. The only thing I didn't like about this recipe was that we couldn't taste the bacon. I think next time I'd leave it out altogether, which would make it healthier, rather than try to add more so that I can taste it. I will definitely make this again, it has a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Delaware, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
Excellent recipe!!! Added about 1/2 cup brown sugar, little extra spices, garlic, and a little more wine to it just to give it a little sweetness. Won 1st place at our chili cook-off! Tasty...everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
VERY GOOD CHILI,CUT BACK ON THE STEAK SAUCE.KIDS DIDN;T LIKE VEGETABLES.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
I made this recipe for a chili cook-off in our small town as an entry for our local public library. We won! We took fully 1/3 of the votes. This chili is easy to make, very tasty, thick enough to eat with a fork, and can be spiced up or down as desired. I didn't leave anything out - all the vegetables, not overcooked mind you, just added to the texture and the experience. The only suggestions we had was it should have had mushrooms, and one person wanted jalapenos. But, the majority preferred this one over the other entries. Try this recipe - it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
We really enjoyed this recipe. It was great. The only thing different the next time I make it I would put a little less Steak Sauce in. I did have to add a little water. The sauce was too thick. This will replace my old stand by Chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
My husband and I made this for friends on Super Bowl Sunday, and we absolutely loved it. We used ground turkey and turkey bacon (next time we want to try regular bacon.) When we first started cooking it, we were a little leary, but we let it cook for several hours and it had a great, complex, slightly sweet flavor. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
Too bad they don't have a 6-star rating!! Best chili I've ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
I love this recipe and get rave reviews on my chili. I have made this for a few years now and have modified it somewhat. I used Red Gold's chili ready diced tomatoes instead of stewed tomatoes. I also omit the steaksauce, add a can of beef broth to make it a little "soupier", and use elbow macaroni instead of beans (husband doesn't like beans in chili). Everyone always comments that they love it has some many vegetables in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 343) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States