Award Winning Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
This is a wonderful recipe for chili that is a little different. I love all of the vegetables that are included in this recipe, but this recipe as is tends to be too thick. I substitute 1 can of diced petite tomatoes, undrained for the stewed tomatoes. I use Julienne carrots, diced. I also add 1/2 can beef broth and 1/2 medium size jar Prego sauce flavored with meat to the chili. The consistency is just right and it tastes really nice.Top with sour cream !! Wonderful !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holly
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
This was good, but not great. I did end up pouring about half a bottle of white wine in and that brought it up to a *thick* chili. Without it, the chili was so thick it was ridiculous! As for the bacon, I couldn't taste it so I'm not convinced there was any real benefit to adding it. Would I make it again? Probably, with some tweaks here and there, because it is a good base but I am still going to try out some other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
This chili was amazing. It won 2nd place at our Super Bowel Chili cookoff this past season!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
This recipe was amazing! I made a double recipe and then froze half in the freezer to use for another meal on another day! It worked out great and tasted just as good as the fresh stuff did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
My co-worker shared this chili recipe with me almost 3 yrs ago, sorry I havent reviewed before now. The first time I made it (of many times since), my DH said do not ever make any other kind of chili, this is the best chili EVER! It is the only chili I make now, WE all LOVE it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brookland, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
This was great. I made it as is, even adding in the kidney beans(which I don't like). At a whole bowl of it myself. Awesome! My husband just loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
Loved this chili, I joined allrecipes just to review this recipe. Wonderful my wife won her annual chili cookoff at work with this recipe. And trust me for years she made her own chili for the cookoff, and never even received any mention from the judges. We used more bacon and added some fresh garlic, It will be sort of thick so we added some vegetable broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
I made this for the Superbowl. It was a big hit! Everyone loved it, even those not so easy to please. The little bit that was left over, I heated and put into a bread bowl. GREAT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockholm, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kenvil, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
It was a hit,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, all gone same day lol yes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chuch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jalcantar
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
Great chili! Good balance of sweet and spicy. I did not put in carrots or celery, used ½ lb hot Italian sausage with 1 lb ground beef, I used left over bacon grease and did not add any bacon, also used 1/6 cup ketchup and 1/6 cup Worcestershire sauce in place of the steak sauce. I topped it off with parmesan/provolone/mozzarella shredded cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 351) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States