Award Winning Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
It was a hit,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, all gone same day lol yes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chuch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jalcantar
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
Great chili! Good balance of sweet and spicy. I did not put in carrots or celery, used ½ lb hot Italian sausage with 1 lb ground beef, I used left over bacon grease and did not add any bacon, also used 1/6 cup ketchup and 1/6 cup Worcestershire sauce in place of the steak sauce. I topped it off with parmesan/provolone/mozzarella shredded cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
my husband has made this several times; this was my first foray and it was delish. the only thing i didn't have was cilantro, but it was still good. i also didn't have any chili seasoning packets, so i (mostly) used the chili seasoning mix II from this site. mmmmm-good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
Like everyone else (it seems), I modified this a bit. I used a 28 oz can of diced tomatoes with green chiles. I used 2 lbs of ground beef and a 28 oz can of kidney beans. There are no "packets" of chili seasoning in our local stores. So, I used chili powder and red pepper flakes ( we were out of cumin). There was no wine in the house so I used chicken broth. I also used garlic flavored A1 Sauce and doubled the green peppers ( red peppers were 4$ each!). After all of that, I thought it was pretty good. My BF's children thought it was awesome. The 15 year old has a great palate and she actually hugged me and that's pretty rare from a 15 year old girl! Like most chili, it was even better the next day. ******Update- We had an office chili cook off and this won first place so I guess it is award winning chili*******
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
Really good chili!! I did it with some deer and beef meat instead of ground beef. Everyone in my family loved it!! I served it with a little sour cream scallions and cheese on top!! A keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CubanSpice

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
My family loved this! My teenager is extremely picky and she said that it was great and she asked me to make it again! I made the recipe just as it says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Very good and very hearty. Next time I will omit the carrots and use less meat and more beans. Other than that this chili was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
This chili is fantastic! I have made many different chili recipes and I think this is the best yet! I made a few changes to the recipe just because I was missing a few of the ingredients. I did not use the carrot or the celery and I only used green pepper because I didn't have any redbell peppers. I also didn't have any steak sauce so I used 1/3 cup equal parts ketchup and worcestershire sauce. I did add nearly 1 cup of water in the last step to reach the consistency I wanted, otherwise it would have been far too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Ok. I did modify this after reading other reviews last night. This is a really good chili (my thoughts) though even with cutting the red pepper flakes down, my BF STILL couldn't eat it (he's a wimp, won't eat anything that has even the SLIGHTEST hint of a kick to it). I replaced the kidney beans with 2 cans of chili beans (with juices), cut out the tomato paste completely, added 2 cans of mexican stewed tomatos, a full pkg of bacon (per other suggestions), 1 lb ground beef, and 1 lb Jimmy Dean Sausage (I like a really meaty chili). I used A-1 steak sauce, as it's what he had in the fridge, and didn't have any white wine on hand, so I replaced it with beer (works really well with the other flavors in this dish). I did add some garlic, salt and pepper and ommitted the veggies (bf REALLY wouldn't touch it if I put them in). The only other modification I did was to put in 1 tbsp Hershey's Unsweetened Coco Powder, which blends really well with the other mix of flavors in this dish. Served with homemade cornbread and cheddar cheese. Awesome. I'll keep this one for my own personal use (maybe will try and De-Spice it a bit next time so he can eat it....MEN!!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
I was wary about making this chili because of the steak sauce and the wine, but this chili was fantastic. I used A1 Steak Sauce and I loved the way it tasted. I also used the premade bacon that comes in sealed packages. I used the chopped stuff and could not realy taste it, next time I won't use the chopped stuff. Also added some garlic powder and a little chili powder. I did not use onions (preference) and I took others advice and added about 1 cup of water and the consistency was great. Topped it off with some tabasco sauce (for me) and everyone has shredded cheese and sour cream. Next time I have to make more of it, because there was none left and I wanted some for lunch the next day. This recipe will really feed 2 adults and 3 children. If making for more or someone eats alot, I suggest doubling it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kluver

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winthrop Harbor, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 343) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States