Avocado Tzatziki Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
I thought this was a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
I am a huge fan of this recipe though I did adjust as a few others did. First, I did not use any garlic, cilantro or mint. Second, I only used 1 cup of Greek yogurt instead of the sour cream. Lastly, I don't seed the cucumber because I enjoy the texture. I am on a pretty caloric strict diet so this became my meal for lunch. 1 cup of Greek yogurt, small Hass avocado, juice of one lemon, one peeled cucumber and the seasonings turned out to be about 400 calories for the whole dish. Perfect! I LOVE this and can eat it with almost anything, or like a salad. The lemon serves the dual purpose of preventing browning and adding a great tart/bright flavor. This is probably my all time favorite recipe on this site. I hate cilantro and don't use much mint but frankly, this recipe doesn't need it. Delicious, satisfying and diet friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
This was so good we ate it as a cold soup! Left out the mint and sub-ed a fresh jalepa~o chopped for the red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NannyTrel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saluda, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I was all set out to make a regular tzatziki sauce, but realized I had an avocado that needed to be used today before going bad. I did an ingredient search and found this recipe. I used Greek Yogurt since I had no sour cream, and it taste great. I sort of eyeballed the ingredients. My avocado wasn't very big and so the flavor isn't overwhelming. I'm eating as veggie dip right now. Pretzels are pretty good with it also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I didn't have any cucumber so I was looking for an alternative tzatziki. This was so tasty! We ate it with chicken gyros, and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
I love love love this. And so do all my friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vdawg5678

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
This recipe is really yummy. I used it in my falafel pita sandwiches and it was a big hit. I made the recipe as written with no modifications. My husband loved it and he is hard to please.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Delicious, but the avocado didn't have much of a purpose outside of color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
This was awsome!!! I didn't have any mint so I used fresh dill instead. This ones a keeper, thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
I've made this a couple of times with the following changes - 1C Greek Yogurt, 1/2C Cilantro & 1/4C Mint. Instead of Red Pepper flakes, I've used Cayenne, but more recently tried a Jalapeno pepper (seeded) and that was the recipe I'll forever use. Everything goes into the blender. SO GOOD ON EVERYTHING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRANGIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Discover Chef John's secret to making the creamiest, best-ever tzatziki sauce.

How to Make Tzatziki Sauce

Pair this creamy cucumber and yogurt sauce with grilled meats and veggies.

Tzatziki Sauce

This refreshing dip also works well as a dressing or sandwich sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States