Avocado Stuffed Yams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
These were tasty! I had to cook my small yam for 50 minutes though, and next time may leave them in a little longer. I liked the hot/cold and flavour combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
Unusual and good. I made it following the directions. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
What a great recipe! The concept is something I would never have thought of (even though I tend to think of guacamole as its own food group.) I used my own guacamole recipe which includes tomato but not the red pepper. The contrast between the sweet of the potato and the savory aspects of the guac is wonderful. I almost left off the cheddar but decided at the last minute to go with the recipe. It was a good choice. The cheddar (I used a sharp Colby) adds another great dimension although if you were trying to cut calories it's great without it as well. Really a super recipe! Thanks for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutchgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
It's very good, but it's also something you have to be in the mood for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babeltek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
The flavors are just not complementary. Too bad _ sounds interesting but just does go together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prince Albert, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CheeryWazel
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
These were really good. The flavor of the avocado sauce amazed me. I put in lemon juice instead of lime juice. But all 4 flavors (avocado, lemon, cheddar cheese, and yam) were very distinct. And I could taste them all separately as I took a bite. Quite unusual. We used extra sharp cheddar cheese. I think the bell pepper diced is a must because it gives a fun light crunch to the avocado dressing. I couldn't taste the bell pepper but it was a fun crunch. I thought I wouldn't need the olive oil, but it made the avocados smoother. I could maybe go without it next time. Broiled it a bit at the end with the dressings on top so the cheese could melt. It took quite a bit longer than 40 minutes at 350 to cook all four yams. It was more like 90 minutes. I am unsure of the proper timing however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CheeryWazel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
sounds interesting. I was looking for a recipe with sweet potatoes and avocado (both are good for your skin) this will be super easy, especially if I use my regular guacamoli recipe (easier) or a store bought one. I only gave 4 star because I haven't done it yet, sorry, I usually hate it when people do that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
delicious! i added soy chorizo as an extra topping, but otherwise kept the recipe as written. served with quinoa on the side and some greens. yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
The entire family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Love this! I love sweet potato and I love avocado, and I LOVE them together, it turns out! While the sweet potato is baking, chill the avocado mixture in the fridge. The juxtaposition of hot sweet potato vs. cold avocado, and their warm and sweet vs. tangy and sour flavors are out of this world!! Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Avocado Salsa

A cool avocado salsa with corn, olives, and red peppers in a tangy vinaigrette.

Stuffed and Rolled Pork Tenderloin

See how to make pork tenderloin stuffed with herbs, garlic, and currants.

Stuffed Zucchini Boats

Zucchini are stuffed with sausage and topped with tomato sauce and melty cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States