Avocado Side Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
This was kind of odd to me. I love avocado and tomato but I wouldn't combine it like this again. I didn't use all of the chili and to be quite honest, my first impression was that the mixture smelled like dog food. But, it tasted better than I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by knamos85

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Parkville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
was looking for a way to use up my avocados. This recipe sounded odd, and even while making it was a bit skeptical. But wow, turned out amazing! made it with whole wheat penne to make it a lil healthier.... mmm mmm good! and was even better the next day, next time will add a few things, like olives, some corn, maybe some pepperjack cheese, and definitely some sour cream. Definitely worth a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erin anne

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Washougal, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
We really enjoyed this dish, and it was so quick and easy to make. I used bowtie pasta instead of angel hair & regular white onion instead of green onion, and we agreed to try it next time using turkey chili to give it more of a kick. Overall very satisfied!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina B.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
This actually isn't too bad. I heated up the chili and tomato bc I just didn't want to eat that cold. I forgot the garlic, though, which is completely uncharacteristic of me. I must be tired! I don't have green onions, so I omitted. Needed a bit of salt and pepper, but not a bad dish. I was a bit surprised I liked it, as I just wasn't too sure about it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
Although this was interesting and extremely healthy, it wasn't a total hit. I love avocado, so this left me somewhat satisfied, but did little for anyone else. Also, it was a lot of chopping and effort for something that I could only give 3 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
Good light pasta dish! I left out the vegetarian chili, added a cup of frozen corn to the cooking pasta, substituted bowtie pasta for the spaghetti and topped the dish with feta cheese. My picky husband and daughter both liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
Not bad, but needed a little something more. I liked adding salsa for a bit more flavor. I would make this again but include some changes. Cheese would add a nice touch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2006
This was pretty good, but next time I make it I think I'll omit the chili. Every time I bit into a cold bean it made me a bit nauseous. Also, the market I went to didn't have vegetarian chili, so the pasta did have some meat in there. Still, I got the gist of it. Next time, no chili for me! And more avocado, yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Mountain House, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
Yum! This is a keeper! Easy, appeals to me, and appeals to my kids. It fits all of my criterea for a great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2004
Good flavor and was simple to prepare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Spicy Avocado Chicken

Pan-fried chicken topped with a fresh avocado and red onion salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States