Avocado Shrimp Ceviche-Estillo Sarita Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
I added garlic and used red onion instead of white, otherwise followed the recipe exactly. Loved it! A great ceviche recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
I read all the reviews and Still decoded to try this exactly as written.... First the shrimp were still totally raw after 20 minutes in the lime juice ( even though I chopped them pretty small). So I decided at that point to just add the tomatoes onion etc and let bit all marinade an hour... After one hour the shrimp were still completely raw! Still grayish blue color and not opaque at all. I kept an eye on it for another hour before we just ordered pizza and decided to try for lunch the next day. Well in the morning the shrimp were opaque finally, whew. And the end result was absolutely delicious! We even had some the next night and it was still great. Served on tostadas with lots of avocado. For sure if I make this again will marinade the shrimp overnight. I don't understand why it didn't work for me as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Great ceviche recipe! It tastes very much like I remember eating it in Mexico. I goofed and used parsley I had on hand from another recipe instead of cilantro. Luckily, I could still add cilantro after my error, because the cilantro is like the tie that binds this recipe together. I think this tasted better after it sat in the fridge overnight. At first I thought it seemed a bit too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mokpochica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
Simple & delicious with authentic flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
This recipe feeds far more than 4 people if used as one of a few side dishes. We used cocktail sauce instead of ketchup and a lot more of it. In the interest of saving time, I used cooked cocktail shrimp but this method really didn't infuse as much flavor into the shrimp as the "cooking" in lime juice. Definitely get more avacado and cocktail sauce to serve on the side. I prefer tortilla chips on the side over saltines.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
This recipe was amazing! I halfed it because there were only 2 of us eating it and I also added cucumbers. Will definitely be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
VERY GOOD RECIPIE, ADDED TWO SERRANO CHILLIES SEEDS AND ALL FOR A LITTLE MORE SPICE AND A DASH OF CAYENNE PEPPER. BROUGHT IT TO WORK AND IT WAS GOBBLED UP!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mizz bunny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Great dish but I like it better without the avocados.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Very good and lots of flavor not too lemony just perfect I added the avocado diced small it was great with tostadas or saltines recipe is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Good, but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Avocado Shrimp Ceviche-Estillo Sarita

Watch how to make this Latin American favorite.

Shrimp Scampi Bake

Dijon mustard adds zesty zip to buttery shrimp scampi.

All about Shrimp

Learn the big, big story of these tiny crustaceans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States