Avocado Shrimp Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
This combination of shrimp and avocado was great! I used uncooked shrimp instead and incorporated some S. TX necessities. I cooked whole shrimp in the chicken broth along with diced onion, garlic, celery, red pepper and 1 habanero pepper (seeded). I removed the shrimp when cooked and set aside and diced. I then added the whole milk and brought the temp up slowly cooking the the veggies. I then added the diced avocado (more than called for) and shrimp and used the stand up hand mixer in the pot itself to puree about half of the ingredients. I added in the following spices along the way: Salt, Pepper, Old Bay Seasoning and Cumin to taste. I also added in a dollop of sour cream and minced cilantro to the bowls. Yummy!!! Boyfriend was dubious of the combination but LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2001
A very nice soup to play with - I added 1/4 tsp of Cayenne, 1 tbsp of dried cilantro, used cream instead of milk and then pureed it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Matthews

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2001
Great recipe William! I added a little twist to the original recipe. I put the cut avacado,and cooked shrimp in the food processor till it became a paste and then put it in the sauce pan together. the flavor of your recipe is great! And I can't believe how fast and simple it was! Just my kind a cookin!! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kerry [redemption]
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Pureed instead. Added a few things and we're gonna serve it w/ a butterflied piece of grilled shrimp on top. (slow day at work so I did some playing..)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerry [redemption]

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mcpherson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Used 4 avocados, sauteed onions with one whole jalapeno and one serrano, diced small, then added 1/2 t cumin and the broth and the milk. After it came to a boil I added chopped imitation crab (on hand) and diced tomatoes. Pureed that BRIEFLY with hand blender, and served it with lemon sour cream and diced tomatoes. I did just about triple the salt and double the lemon as otherwise would have not been "bright" enough in flavor. This one is a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauraellen225

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Kinsman, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I love avocado and shrimp together, so I was really excited to try this recipe. The bright green color was nice but the taste of the soup left much to be desired. Nobody in my family would eat a full bowl. I am only giving it two stars, because it may have potential as a cold soup. Warm, not so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
This was surprisingly good, I too used a food processor for the avocado, onion, and I used crab. I also added some cayenne pepper, and hot sauce for some kick. Hubby liked it, but kids didn't. I did and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Desoto, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
Not very flavorful, but rich. Needs more salt and perhaps a touch of garlic. I may experiment with this one more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandon M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2001
Its green colour makes it a very exciting and unconventional soup. I used crab flakes and a sprig of parsley to garnish. I also used a handblender an pureed the shrimp/avocado mixture in the pot while cooking, until smooth and you can't see anymore shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
I added old bay, smoked paprika, cayenne pepper and some fleur de sel to smooth out the taste. I also used 1 lb of shrimp and pureed half of it into the bisque. 1/4 pound I cut into chunks and put it into the bisque. The remaining 1/4 I butterflied and grilled it, basting with cilantro oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Avocado Shrimp Ceviche-Estillo Sarita

Watch how to make this Latin American favorite.

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States