Avocado Shrimp Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2001
Its green colour makes it a very exciting and unconventional soup. I used crab flakes and a sprig of parsley to garnish. I also used a handblender an pureed the shrimp/avocado mixture in the pot while cooking, until smooth and you can't see anymore shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2001
A very nice soup to play with - I added 1/4 tsp of Cayenne, 1 tbsp of dried cilantro, used cream instead of milk and then pureed it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Matthews

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2001
Great recipe William! I added a little twist to the original recipe. I put the cut avacado,and cooked shrimp in the food processor till it became a paste and then put it in the sauce pan together. the flavor of your recipe is great! And I can't believe how fast and simple it was! Just my kind a cookin!! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2001
We liked this a lot. Even my guests who don't like avacado liked this, and were surprised to learn it is "avacado soup."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2001
A very good soup. I too, pureed the soup and it was smooth with a mild flavor - a bit like guacamole soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Fegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2001
I thought the soup was really bland. I will not be cooking it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2001
This looks good; haven't tried it, yet, but i'd like to note, that, the avocado in a soup can add some bitterness to it; i have a wonderful avocado soup, and sometimes it has a bitter taste to it; couldn't discern if it's because of the avocado itself, or the cooking, which brought it. When it's w/o this bitterness, it's simply delicious. I'll try this one, cause i love the mix (shrimps & avocado). Dan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2002
A beautiful avocado, wasted. We actually threw the pot of soup away. It had a strange, unpleasant taste to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
Odd...there were chunks of avocado in the bisque. Bisque's are silky, not chunky. There was an overbearing flavor that stole the great taste of a bisque that sounded realllllly good. On the flipside, my friend loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Gela

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2003
I pureed all the ingredients before cooking. This was DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Avocado Shrimp Ceviche-Estillo Sarita

Watch how to make this Latin American favorite.

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States