Avocado Shrimp Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2004
Tasted pretty good....but remember that avocados are a fruit...too many will make your tummy upset. We found out the hard way. I pureed the avocados in the bisque.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2004
Thanks, William, for this delicious recipe. Like many others, I pureed the avocado and most of the shrimp first. The soup came out really well and was very unique. I posted a summary of my experience with the soup to my food blog, At Our Table, at http://atourtable.blogspot.com, of course crediting you for the recipe. Really good and different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2004
I pick the recipes, my husband cooks. For this one he said, "This is the best soup I've ever made". (And we've done quite a few!) Just follow the advice of others and make sure to puree the mixture. We also added a bit of seafood seasoning in addition to the salt and pepper. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2004
WONDERFUL! Like other reviewers, I used a hand blender to puree all the incredients in the pot. I added extra onion and lemon juice. It had an incredible flavor and texture. My guests couldn't get enough. I will definitely make this again! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2003
I pureed all the ingredients before cooking. This was DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
Odd...there were chunks of avocado in the bisque. Bisque's are silky, not chunky. There was an overbearing flavor that stole the great taste of a bisque that sounded realllllly good. On the flipside, my friend loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Gela

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2002
A beautiful avocado, wasted. We actually threw the pot of soup away. It had a strange, unpleasant taste to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2001
This looks good; haven't tried it, yet, but i'd like to note, that, the avocado in a soup can add some bitterness to it; i have a wonderful avocado soup, and sometimes it has a bitter taste to it; couldn't discern if it's because of the avocado itself, or the cooking, which brought it. When it's w/o this bitterness, it's simply delicious. I'll try this one, cause i love the mix (shrimps & avocado). Dan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2001
I thought the soup was really bland. I will not be cooking it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2001
A very good soup. I too, pureed the soup and it was smooth with a mild flavor - a bit like guacamole soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Fegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Avocado Shrimp Ceviche-Estillo Sarita

Watch how to make this Latin American favorite.

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States