Avocado Shrimp Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2004
Tasted pretty good....but remember that avocados are a fruit...too many will make your tummy upset. We found out the hard way. I pureed the avocados in the bisque.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2004
Thanks, William, for this delicious recipe. Like many others, I pureed the avocado and most of the shrimp first. The soup came out really well and was very unique. I posted a summary of my experience with the soup to my food blog, At Our Table, at http://atourtable.blogspot.com, of course crediting you for the recipe. Really good and different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2004
I pick the recipes, my husband cooks. For this one he said, "This is the best soup I've ever made". (And we've done quite a few!) Just follow the advice of others and make sure to puree the mixture. We also added a bit of seafood seasoning in addition to the salt and pepper. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2004
WONDERFUL! Like other reviewers, I used a hand blender to puree all the incredients in the pot. I added extra onion and lemon juice. It had an incredible flavor and texture. My guests couldn't get enough. I will definitely make this again! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2003
I pureed all the ingredients before cooking. This was DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
Odd...there were chunks of avocado in the bisque. Bisque's are silky, not chunky. There was an overbearing flavor that stole the great taste of a bisque that sounded realllllly good. On the flipside, my friend loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Gela

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2002
A beautiful avocado, wasted. We actually threw the pot of soup away. It had a strange, unpleasant taste to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2001
This looks good; haven't tried it, yet, but i'd like to note, that, the avocado in a soup can add some bitterness to it; i have a wonderful avocado soup, and sometimes it has a bitter taste to it; couldn't discern if it's because of the avocado itself, or the cooking, which brought it. When it's w/o this bitterness, it's simply delicious. I'll try this one, cause i love the mix (shrimps & avocado). Dan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2001
I thought the soup was really bland. I will not be cooking it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2001
A very good soup. I too, pureed the soup and it was smooth with a mild flavor - a bit like guacamole soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Fegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Avocado Shrimp Ceviche-Estillo Sarita

Watch how to make this Latin American favorite.

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States