Avocado Shrimp Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
Not very flavorful, but rich. Needs more salt and perhaps a touch of garlic. I may experiment with this one more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandon M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
This combination of shrimp and avocado was great! I used uncooked shrimp instead and incorporated some S. TX necessities. I cooked whole shrimp in the chicken broth along with diced onion, garlic, celery, red pepper and 1 habanero pepper (seeded). I removed the shrimp when cooked and set aside and diced. I then added the whole milk and brought the temp up slowly cooking the the veggies. I then added the diced avocado (more than called for) and shrimp and used the stand up hand mixer in the pot itself to puree about half of the ingredients. I added in the following spices along the way: Salt, Pepper, Old Bay Seasoning and Cumin to taste. I also added in a dollop of sour cream and minced cilantro to the bowls. Yummy!!! Boyfriend was dubious of the combination but LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Maryann
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
This was a very delicious soup. I made some changes to it though. I added about 2 tsp minced garlic, used ground cayenne pepper instead of black, squeezed a lime as well as using 2 tsp lemon juice to it, used 1 tsp curry powder. AND I added a shot of clear tequila (no preference to clear, just what was on hand). And I used about 1/2 cup diced onion. I added all ingredients excluding milk, to blender and pureed until smooth and silky. I then transferred to a pot, mixed in the milk and heated it. It was DELICIOUS!!! Thanks for the recipe. I was very glad I used it as a base bcuz with my tweeking it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maryann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
This was delicious! After reading the reviews about blandness, I decided to make a few changes. I sauted onions and garlic in olive oil before hand and added course salt, plus cut up the avocados in small pieces so there wasn't a big chunk without any flavor to it. I would definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
I came across this recipe while searching for a different way to use some avocados I purchased as an impulse buy in our local price club--would have never thought of it on my own--thank you for a great recipe-literally took less than 5 minutes to make and its nutritious and yummy--two things that can be hard to come by. The only thing I did was substitute the whole milk with a little less than 2/3 cup organic plain soy and it still tastes great! Again, thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
It was okay. I may make it again, with some changes. As for what other reviewers have said - yes, try and add a little more flavor and it's probably best to puree the mix before you add the shrimp. Also, substituing coconut milk for milk... You didn't really expect that to turn out, do you? XD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownsville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
Excellent!! Both my husband and I loved it! I did add 1/8 tsp. powdered red pepper to add a bit of zip. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Belmont, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2005
This recipe is a little strange. I followed the reviewers' advice and pureed the soup before adding the shrimp which turned it an unappetizing green color like pistachio pudding. The taste was okay but very different. I think it would be better to just have chunks of avacado in the broth but even then, it's just a weird flavor to have in soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2004
I, too thought the soup was bland. I pureed the ingrediants and added crumbled bacon to it. I will try it again with crab meat instead of shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2004
This was just an okay recipe for me. I substituted lite coconut milk for the regular milk as it was what I had on hand. Perhaps this made a bigger difference than I expected?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Avocado Shrimp Ceviche-Estillo Sarita

Watch how to make this Latin American favorite.

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States