Avocado Shrimp Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Delicious soup, so light! I pureed it as well, such a simple and quick recipe to use up avocados.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BigShotsMom
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Since I had to cook my shrimp, I reserved the resulting broth and used it instead of the chicken stock. I used lime juice instead of lemon. Since my avocados were really firm I puréed most of them with the milk and broth then added back the rest of the avocado and chopped shrimp. I added a bit of cayenne as it simmered. This is very rich and tastes decadent, but actually quite healthy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2013
Not bad once I added another avocado, added some seasoning, served it on bruschetta bread with sauteed shrimp and topped it off with lump crabmeat. Excellent appetizer!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
I made this as written except I pureed the whole thing as other reviewers suggested. I used whole milk and 10 oz avocado. The next time I make it I might puree the half pound of shrimp and then add another half pound that isn't pureed. I definitely did NOT get 12 servings. I got 8 EXTREMELY small bowls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Really tasty.. I tried it both hot and cold and I prefer it hot.. will made this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
Unexpected, but delicious! And low (no) carb! Perfect for me - I'm insulin resistant. Thank you so much - so easy & will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
This is a creamy, deliightful soup that I can see myself making again - repeatedly. I did make a few small adjustments - added a bit of garlic salt, switched some of the milk for cream, and pureed the soup with an immersion blender before adding the shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
i tried this soup today, :(, not as i expected. i think i won't add lemon juice next time. this time, i added lemon juice and it was bitter when it got cold. no one can eat more than a bowl :(.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Used 4 avocados, sauteed onions with one whole jalapeno and one serrano, diced small, then added 1/2 t cumin and the broth and the milk. After it came to a boil I added chopped imitation crab (on hand) and diced tomatoes. Pureed that BRIEFLY with hand blender, and served it with lemon sour cream and diced tomatoes. I did just about triple the salt and double the lemon as otherwise would have not been "bright" enough in flavor. This one is a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauraellen225

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Kinsman, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I love avocado and shrimp together, so I was really excited to try this recipe. The bright green color was nice but the taste of the soup left much to be desired. Nobody in my family would eat a full bowl. I am only giving it two stars, because it may have potential as a cold soup. Warm, not so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Avocado Shrimp Ceviche-Estillo Sarita

Watch how to make this Latin American favorite.

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States