Avocado Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2002
Going to make this tomorrow! Just a hint about dicing avacados...I saw a chef slice an unpeeled avacado in half length-wise, remove the pit, then use a sharp knife to slice the avacado (while UNPEELED) and removed the fruit from the skin by scooping it out with a rubber spatula. It works like a charm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
195 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2003
Just like everyone else, I received raves and requests for this recipe. I accidentally added too many olives, but no one noticed. My suggestion is to use frozen WHITE corn as it is sweeter and has a nice crisp pop. And, I would add more avocado (the ones I used were too small) otherwise it looks more like a corn salsa instead of avocado salsa. Per other suggestions here, I added a minced jalapeno (take out seeds and veins if you don't like the heat), chopped cilantro and sliced green onion. It makes this recipe just perfect! Thanks a bunch, people!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2004
I took the suggestion of making a wrap with this for an easy dinner. I grilled a couple of chicken breasts, sliced them up, and folded them into flour tortillas with about 2/3 cup of the salsa in each. I also used, instead if the oregano, about 1/2 cup fresh chopped cilantro, and added in 1 tsp groung cumin. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakeside, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2003
Wonderful!! I have made this twice, the second time using fresh chopped cilantro in place of the oregano. Both got rave reviews by everyone. Personally, I preferd the cilantro over the oregano, it gave the salsa a fresher taste. Also added more salt as others suggested and a little finely chopped serrano pepper to spice it up just a bit. Add some grilled chicken to leftovers for a great wrap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
A lot of reviewers rated this recipe high but with some pretty big modifications. I made it as written and I didn't like it very much. I thought the balance of ingredients was off (too much corn for the amount of avocado) and the oregano just wasn't right for it. I would definitely follow the advice of others and use cilantro instead. I also think the addition of tomato and black beans might make it tastier. Green onions would probably be a nice substitue for the regular onion. I recommend the recipe called Black Bean And Corn Salad II on this site. I found it much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 2, 2003
Excellent salsa. I have made this at least 10 or 12 times in the last 1-1/2 years and it is still a big hit. We are having a Cinco de Mayo lunch at work on 5-5-03 and all of the women in the department are begging me to bring it already. I use cilantro in place of the oregano and before I bring it to work I dice the avocado and mix in about 6 hours before lunch. The mixture does marinate overnight however. Thank you for such a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2002
I loved this recipe, I did take out the corn and olives--my boys don't like them--and it was just great. Everyone who had this loved it and I was proud to serve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Absolutely delicious! This tastes wonderfully fresh and light. I added a can of rinsed black beans and 2 chopped Roma tomatoes as well. I used Kalamata olives in red wine vinegar and 1/2 of a small red onion and left out the red pepper. I also substituted fresh lime juice for the lemon because I like lime with avocado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Brandywine, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2002
I took this to a small dinner party (7 adults) thinking that there would be WAY too much for the crowd, but there was hardly any left over at the end of the evening. Received great reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2002
this was good but for my taste i needed to add a lot more salt. great for a big party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Avocado and Black-Eyed-Pea Salsa

Make a festive, flavorful chip dip that always brings you good luck!

Avocado Salsa

A cool avocado salsa with corn, olives, and red peppers in a tangy vinaigrette.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States