Avocado Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: May 8, 2003
Great salsa recipe. We love avocados in our house so this is a good salsa recipe for us. This is the best recipe I have tried. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2003
This is so good. I took it to bunco last night where it went over well. I'm always telling them i'm not a great cook but i get great recipes from this site. I added fresh cilantro and a seeded and choppped jalepeno. Very good and great to eat just as a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2003
Excellent salsa. I have made this at least 10 or 12 times in the last 1-1/2 years and it is still a big hit. We are having a Cinco de Mayo lunch at work on 5-5-03 and all of the women in the department are begging me to bring it already. I use cilantro in place of the oregano and before I bring it to work I dice the avocado and mix in about 6 hours before lunch. The mixture does marinate overnight however. Thank you for such a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2003
I made this for an Easter picnic and it was a SMASH hit! I personally thought it could have used a little less olive oil. Also, since I don't do red bell pepper, I chopped roma tomato for the red element. The stuff was gone quick! The prep time was well worth the rave reviews I got.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ferrermartinez

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2003
I love this avocado salsa. It is tangy, refreshing and provides an interesting melange of flavours and textures. The avocado is the binding element of the recipe. It seems to balance the tanginess from the other ingredients and provides a counter smoothness to the salsa. Great party food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
I love this! I add cilantro as well as the oregano, and it is definitely spice-up-able with green chiles or jalapenos. A friend of mine loves it so much, he brings over all the ingredients occasionally as well as a bottle of wine, so I will make this for him. Of course I could give him the recipe, since it's simple enough for even a super-mega-bachelor, but, come on--he pays me with wine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clovis, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2003
This was not that great, maybe I was expecting more of a Mexican type flavor . I added Ro-Tel tomatoes to give it some spice. Would I make this again...probably not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2003
Wonderful!! I have made this twice, the second time using fresh chopped cilantro in place of the oregano. Both got rave reviews by everyone. Personally, I preferd the cilantro over the oregano, it gave the salsa a fresher taste. Also added more salt as others suggested and a little finely chopped serrano pepper to spice it up just a bit. Add some grilled chicken to leftovers for a great wrap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2003
This is the first "all recipes" recipe I have tried and it was good pickins! I made the salsa to serve with tortillas, but also with fresh prawns. The flavours work perfectly together! I also added some serrano chile to add some kick. Leftover plans include adding some chicken and rolling it up in a tortilla. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Avocado and Black-Eyed-Pea Salsa

Make a festive, flavorful chip dip that always brings you good luck!

Avocado Salsa

A cool avocado salsa with corn, olives, and red peppers in a tangy vinaigrette.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States