Avocado Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
An appetizing and colorful recipe, and a great alternative to regular tomato-based salsas! I made a lot of the suggested adjustments to this salsa (added diced tomatoes, subbed drained black beans for olives, subbed cilantro for oregano, lime juice for lemon [it was all I had]) and it was quite good. The guy loved it w/ tortilla chips. Oh, except for the fact that it made my fridge smell like a million onions had rained down on it. I'll use less of those next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2006
I followed the recipe with one minor change(used canned corn) and one addition (Jalapeno's!) Everyone loved it on Cinco de Mayo and requested the recipe. I will be making this for all my summer functions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
A lot of reviewers rated this recipe high but with some pretty big modifications. I made it as written and I didn't like it very much. I thought the balance of ingredients was off (too much corn for the amount of avocado) and the oregano just wasn't right for it. I would definitely follow the advice of others and use cilantro instead. I also think the addition of tomato and black beans might make it tastier. Green onions would probably be a nice substitue for the regular onion. I recommend the recipe called Black Bean And Corn Salad II on this site. I found it much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
Could not stop eating this salsa!! It is so good! I had this for the first time 2 years ago at a friends house. She gave me the recipe but I had lost it. I am so happy to have found it here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEBURKEBROOD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
I love this recipe! I have made it several times for family/friend parties and it is always a big hit. A few modifications that I make: 1. Use 1 can of corn instead of frozen 2. 2 avocados seem to be plenty 3. I leave out the peppers because I am not a big fan 4. My husband does not like olives, so I buy them whole and just slice them in half so he can get around them. Thank you Barbara for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
I thought this was really good, but not many people ate it. I made it for Superbowl and there was a lot of other foods, so I think that might be why. I used tomatos instead of bell pepper and cilantro instead of oregano like others suggested. I also cut the oil and it was plenty. It had a nice flavor and was very appealing to the eye. The only problem I had was the avacados were too mushy and as the night went on, it started to look like chunky guacamole. I will buy much less ripe avacado's next time and use while they are still green.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
This is so good! You won't be disappointed. If you like avocado, you will love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
flavorful & fresh tasting - suggest using cilantro rather than oregano - great as a side salad also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAULINAJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palatine, Illinois, USA
Living In: Woodstock, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
This is the best stuff! I made it for an anniversary party and it was a huge hit. My family asks for it now for every event!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
I love this salsa - I don't even need the tortilla chips. We eat it with a bowl and spoon. I do make a few changes. I use a little less salt and add 1-2 Tbsps lime juice with the lemon juice. I also use 2 cans of corn instead of frozen corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Avocado and Black-Eyed-Pea Salsa

Make a festive, flavorful chip dip that always brings you good luck!

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Avocado Salsa

A cool avocado salsa with corn, olives, and red peppers in a tangy vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States