Avocado Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
Wonderful salad John. I used red onion, red bell pepper for color, lemon instead of lime, parsley instead of cilantro (hate it) my usual garlic and onion powders and served it over some baby spinach. Read how someone rated this low due to under ripe avacados? Don't quite get that, however, just so no one else makes the same mistake, the avacado should be dark and give a bit when you press it. A couple of days in a paper bag on your counter (not in the fridge) will ripen them nicely. Thanks for a great recipe John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
188 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
Delicious! If you cut your avocado in large enough chunks then even the leftovers won't remind you of quacamole. I used a orange bell pepper to add more color, extra lime juice, dried cilantro (sorry, its all I had!) and added 2T of olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2001
This was fabulous! It was like a pico de gallo with avocado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
Everything was fine except for GREEN PEPPERS bec. of it's strong taste. OMIT the green peppers, and voila!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2005
Great recipe that I've seen in another form, with drained can(s) of black beans. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovetocook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lapeer, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2003
Simple dish that showcases avocadoes. I used 4 avocadoes since I was serving 3 of us, and I used more lime juice than was called for to make the dish brighter tasting. I thought the vidalia onion was a great call; it contributed to the flavor of the sald, but didn't overshadow the mild avacado flavor. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2005
I usually do not save left over salad. But this one I did!!! I really loved this one!!The only thing I changed with this recipe was to add some red pepper along with the green pepper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
REALLY good combination! I chopped the onions, pepper, and tomatoes very small and the avocado into larger chunks, and the result was almost like a chunky guacamole. If the avocadoes are ripe enough next time I make this, I may serve it with baked tortilla chips as a sort of dippable/spreadable salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2004
Delicious! I fry corn tortillas and spread this recipe on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2000
Great summer salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pasta Salad with Avocado, Tomato, & Mozzarella

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States