Avocado Salad with Orange-Wasabi Glazed Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2004
First of all, like others have mentioned, I had trouble with the glaze. I tried twice. The first time, all the water evaporated, leaving a crispy, sugar powder. The second time, I didn't let it get to this point, but the resulting glaze was too watery. This stuff is my fault. I'm sure that making a caramelized-glaze is one of those things that I should have learned in home ec. But there are major problems with the ratios of ingredients. The orange actually overpowers the wasabi! I increased the wasabi by 5 times, and the orange was still overpowering. I would probably only use 2T to 1/4 c of orange juice. Also, the sauce is much too sweet. At least in these proportions, the sugary-orange wine glaze does not compliment the wasabi taste. The orange/wine glaze is really delicious, though. I gave the recipe two stars because this combination is so unique that I'm sure that just a few changes could make this a really wonderful dish -- just not in its current form.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2002
My hubby and I thought this was very refreshing. The fresh lime juice was an excellent addition. We brushed the chicken with the glaze while it cooked on the grill and added the extra glaze (once it cooled) to the salad. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2004
You can save yourself a lot of trouble by using 1/3 cup orange juice concentrate instead of orange juice, and reducing the amount of wine. Add only what water you need to get the desired consistency. Warm gently in a saucepan to meld flavors. Do not worry about a raw alcohol taste, as it will continue to cook off as the chicken cooks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2004
The instructions on this recipe are not complete. And I tried 3 times to get the sugar and water to a "dark amber color," but it seized on me every time. Very difficult recipe, and I am an avid cook and enjoy trying new recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2004
This recipe sounds great but the glaze isn't right, the ratios of the ingredients are wrong I think. The salad was great though, I will use the
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2002
This is a receipe that you'll just have to try to get the whole jist of the salad!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2001
The dressing came out really flavorful but the glaze on the chicken was a little too sweet. Maybe add more wasabi. Also, I used a chicken substitute (Veat) since I'm a vegetarian and it worked out just fine! Served with some bread it was a satisfying meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2001
this is the best recipe ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2003
The glaze was a little tricky at first. The water evaporated and the sugar clumped up and did not turn into an amber color. I tried it again by reducing the amount of sugar by half (I thought it was too sweet) and increased the amount of water. I cooked it over low to medium heat until it was reduced to a syrup like consistency. Overall the salad was great. I also added black beans and white corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2001
The glaze was too watery. Will add some honey and less liquid to give it more texture, taste & gloss to the chicken. Otherwise the chicken is pretty disappointing but the salad itself is quite lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Salad with Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato

Kickin' chicken BLT salad, oh my!

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States