Avocado Salad with Bacon and Sour Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ADZELL
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
SOOOO GOOD!!!!!! Ingredients wise, I followed the recipe to the "T", except used iceburg lettuce because that is what we had in the house. What a pretty presentation this salad makes & I think it would be even nicer with romaine. I mixed all of the dressing ingredients together (minus the avocados) and let it sit in the fridge for a few hours before serving. Just before dinner I then chopped up the avocados and very gently folded them into the sour cream mixture. My dad RAVED about this salad and said about 5 times how good it was; he never, ever does that! Thanks TXG for such a simple & tasty recipe!!! I plan on making this often. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADZELL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
Oh my goodness were we pleasantly surprised and rewarded on this! It looked just beautiful on the red leaf lettuce and the taste matched its presentation. The combination of creamy sour cream, buttery smooth avocado and smoky bacon was just out of this world. Whether eaten on its own as a salad, or served in tacos, you will not be disappointed. This will be my new guacamole, and because of this recipe we will be eating a lot more avocados. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
very good. something different to do with avacado's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
This is a delicious way to use avocados as a side salad. Very refreshing and yummy! My brother doesn't even like avocados and he ate a huge helping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
We love this I make it all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
This was delicious! Very popular at the potluck I took it to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
Great recipe! Loved the lemony-salty taste and you can't go wrong with anything with avocado in it!! Will make this one again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
Yum Yum, This was a great salad that the whole family liked. Good change from an everyday salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Travelers Rest, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I'm originally from the Tampa Bay area and I grew up with avocado and key lime trees in my yard, so I grew up with fresh guacamole in the wintertime, or what passes for winter in Florida. When it comes to regular guacamole, less ingredients are better, but the avocados must be very ripe or it will lack flavor and creamy consistency. This salad is excellent but especially good if your avocados are a touch underripe for standard guacamole. I added a clove of garlic and substituted key lime juice for lemon. Key lime is tarter than regular lime and gives it a unique flavor. I would even suggest regular Persian lime instead of lemon in this recipe. Overall, excellent as a dip or even condiment to tacos or fajitas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sailshonan

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
Wow, wow, wow! I LOVED this! I followed the recipe exactly except I used low fat sour cream(all I had) and threw in a little extra bacon(maybe half a piece). I will make this over and over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ambibambi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Tortellini Bacon Broccoli Salad

This creamy pasta salad is the perfect side for picnics, potlucks, and BBQs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States