Avocado Salad with Bacon and Sour Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2013
I followed reviewers suggestions and mixed together all but the avocados ahead of time so that the flavors could come together and ‘get happy.’ I folded in the avocados when I was getting ready to serve and ended up adding more sour cream and lemon juice because it was just too thick. I guess my avocados were really big. Served over a bed of mixed greens, even my non-salad-liking dad enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela W

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I used half the sour cream and used lite sour cream. I also added a clove of garlic. I seasoned with coarse salt and fresh ground pepper. I served this to a crowd with carnitas and every bit was gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Interesting salad, I like it. Definitely spreadable & creamy. It's a bit too creamy for me to just place on top of lettuce. It needs a rivaling texture; perhaps entertainment crackers or toasted bread?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
This salad is outstanding. Even though my hubby doesn't like creamy salads and isn't wild about avocados (can you believe it?) he liked this. I used regular sour cream, but next time I make this I will try the fat free. I am a Lifetime Weight Watcher, so always whittling away those calories and fat wherever I can as long as it doesn't ruin the taste. I ate this salad 2 days after I made it for dinner and it makes a good leftover lunch the next day. Didn't lose it's color at all. I look forward to serving this to guests in the future
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, California, USA
Living In: Brea, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
This is a lovely base and we found it a little bland as written. The second time we added another onion, a good handful of cilantro, a couple shakes of tabasco and used key lime instead of lemon juice. We liked that better. In subsequent attempts, I also added cumin to the 'sauce' and did let it sit for about an hour before adding to the salad. This batch has been our favorite so far. Thanks for the idea - it's a great one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutchgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
This is a good multipurpose recipe that can be used on many things or eaten as a appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
OMG! This is one of the best things ever made with bacon and avocados. I did change it slightly as I used lime juice instead of lemon as thats what I had on hand. I also mashed one of the avocados and left one diced to thicken it a bit. Once it was all mixed I folded in about 1/4 tsp of Aleppo pepper flakes and served like guacamole with carnitas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendyb1993

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
Awesome topping for tacos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Absolutely delicious! It has become staple in our house. I usually cut back on lemon juice in recipes but DON'T in this one. Once it's mixed, the lemon really marries all the flavors very well! Best to serve about 30 min after prepared. Love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Used as a dip with the Cottage Cheese Chicken Enchiladas - was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Tortellini Bacon Broccoli Salad

This creamy pasta salad is the perfect side for picnics, potlucks, and BBQs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States