Avocado Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
Excellent bread. I made it in a decorative bundt pan, precut it and dusted it ith a light sprinkle of powdered sugar. Crowd favorite. Try using macadamia nuts, wonderful addition. Mine came out quite green, but you can add a few drops of food coloring to achieve that if desired. If you don't have buttermilk on hand, you can use 1 Tbls of vinegar in the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
Awesome but not as green as I'd hoped. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2002
GREAT BREAD!! This recipe is fantastic. Do not let the word "Advocado" (use Haas Advocado's)scare you away from this bread. This is very sweet and for added taste I added an orange sauce and whip cream. This is a must try and if you have any reservations put them aside. Thanks for something different and exciting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri   Yaki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
This recipe is delicious! My whole family loves it! It is a little like zucchini bread. You will not be dissapointed in this bread! I will double the recipe next time! I did not have any buttermilk so I used a half cup of sour cream and a quarter cup of milk and it turned out wonderful! Thanks for sharing this fantastic recipe Michelle!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
This seemed like a strange recipe, but we love avocado and tried it. It is fantastic! Delicious and moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2002
This recipe is fabulous. And is out of this world when served with a cup of tea! Definitely will be making this one again. And to think I was just trying to get rid of my avocados when I picked this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
I gave this recipe 5 stars not only because it tastes great (much like zucchini bread), but also because it's a terrific way to use those just-about-ready-to-toss avocados! I only had 2 avocados (equivalent to about 1 cup mashed) so I added some applesauce to extend it. Also, in keeping with the "green" theme, I used pistachios and omitted the raisins. Might be fun to make it red and green for Christmas and use dried cherries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2002
Very easy and delicious! It's very moist; and the pretty "green" color, is an eye catcher! I used golden raisens; when serving to family members who don't care for nuts, I doubled the raisens. Also increased the spices a little. Very similar to the consistency of pumpkin bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2005
I made this two times. Both times I only had one avocado. The first time I just substituted banana and the second time I used ripe plantains (the peel is completely black). The plantains in the bread added a nice complement to the avocado. One of my favorite recipes. My neighbor has been bugging me to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fitchburg, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States