Avocado Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
Very moist and delicious! I had a lot of avacodoes to use up so I tripled the batch and used walnuts that I already had in the house. Turned out perfect! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Marinette, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
Just "ok." Moist, dense, bread, pleasant enough. I cut the sugar down to 1.5 cups and found that sweet enough. Nice to use up avocado, but give me carrot quick bread any day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASTROPHE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
These were much better than I expected. I made half the batter into a loaf, and the other half into cupcakes and topped with cream cheese icing. Even people who aren't very vegetable-friendly loved them! I prefer it in loaf form, but for company, the cupcakes were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
Very moist and sweet. Interesting color. I didn't bother putting in the pecans, and I think if I make this again I'd leave out the raisins because I just didn't think they added anything to it. I may have added more avocado than called for--I just mashed up an entire avocado and didn't bother measuring. I scaled the recipe to make one loaf. Good, though, and different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
After an over-exuberant trip to the farmer's market, I found myself with way too many ripe avacados. This was the perfect way to use some of them. My kids couldn't get enough of this bread! I ended up making two batches- two loaves were eaten almost immediately, the other two were frozen for later. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
I have an avocado tree in my back yard and didn't know what to do with them. Found this recipe and loved it. Made several loafs for gifts this year. Not one complaint!! In fact everyone has asked for the recipe. I did make some changes. Added more raisins and more nuts. Did not use allspice or orange zest but added more cinnamon. Making several more and freezing them for later in the year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
This was a delicious quick bread with a uniquely nutty flavor from the avocados. Very good toasted with a little butter. It is a more expensive quick bread than most, due to the cost of avocados (up to $2 each near me!). I would make this again for a treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
A good recipe, but nothing out of this world. Very moist, which I liked. I forgot the orange zest, but it still turned out good. Also, I used 1 cup chocolate chips instead of raisins and nuts. Mine turned out very dessert-like, sweet and rich and gooey. I agree with another reviewer that the avocado didn't seem to add anything, except perhaps moisture, but certainly not flavor, which disappointed me. I feel like advertising it as avocado bread is misleading because it doesn't taste anything like it, but it's still a good recipe in itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
I made this recipe exactly the same. It worked out, but I prefer both banana and zuchinni bread. It's one of those recipes that tastes great right out of the oven because it's fresh and warm and has been smelling good... but when you taste it the next day you realize you had yourself deceived. I don't think that the avacado contributes to the recipe... it is just an extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
pretty easy to make, turned out quite wonderful even with less than ripe avocados!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States