Avocado Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
I added chopped walnuts and added a bit of nutmeg to it- served warm with butter- very good! will surely make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellster Jereb
Home Town: Newark, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
4.5 stars. Did 1 loaf (cutting things in half was irritating because of the irregular amounts- like 1 7/8 of a cup). I did 1 egg and 1 egg white and decresed the sugar to 3/4 of a cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Eldersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
This is a really great moist bread. It turned out better than banana bread. I did not have raisins so i put dried cherries. It worked wonderfully. I will definetly make it again. I also like that you make 2 loaves. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Very tasty moist bread, nicely spiced as well. I did cut the sugar back by using a touch over half a cup of sugar (but I halved the recipe too since its just me and my husband). That would make it a little over a cup of sugar for the full recipe. The sweetnees was fine, in fact if I had used what it called for, it would have been TOO sweet. Thanks for a great idea to use your avocados!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Eating it right now, with a cup of peppermint and lemon tea, and my god but it is delicious. Except for reducing the sugar by approx. one third (standard operating procedure with American recipes) I tried to follow the recipe pretty exactly, but I had no buttermilk, allspice or pecans, so I substituted milk + 3/4 tbs white vinegar; mix of cloves, nutmeg, cinnamon and black pepper; and walnuts. Worked out just fine. Perfect, in fact. In my opinion, twice as many nuts would not be amiss, but maybe that's just me. One thing though, for Canadians and Euros and other logically inclined people: DO NOT TRUST THE ON-SITE METRIC CONVERTER. Check the numbers yourself. Also: bundt pan. :D Also, also: Yum. Go make this. Right now. Invite your friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Very moist and dense. The neighbor ate 3 slices before I told him the secret ingredient. Awesome slathered with butter (but what isn't?).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
I love this stuff. The kids, not so much. It can be a little dry depending on the size of your avocados and getting the mix just right, but a warmed up slice with a little butter on it is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tonganoxie, Kansas, USA
Living In: Mission, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
Very interesting, and very, very good! I chose this recipe in the first place and decided to follow it exactly because I've come across this submitter's name several times either with her recipes or with her reviews and have always found she knows what she's doing! If Michelleca says it, I respect it and I follow it! I used this batter for muffins and baked them at 375 degrees for about 20 minutes. What the avocado doesn't contribute in flavor is more than made up for by what it contributes in richness and moistness. Because it is a neutral flavor the bread (or muffins in my case) picks up the flavor of whatever additions you make. In this case the orange flavor is prominent with a hint of cinnamon and spice - very pleasant. It is the addition of the orange zest, pecans and raisins that really make this extraordinarily delicious, and I would suggest not to leave any of it out. The bread is not quite green but definitely a different color. It is beautifully flecked with the pecans, nuts, raisins, and specks of orange zest and green avocado. I loved the recipe just as written but the mildness of the avocado lends this to any number of flavor or fruit variations. I topped the muffins with sparkling sugar before they went in the oven, which gave them a sweet, sparkly crunch. Once again, Michelleca, you have come up with something good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
Moist, tender, and scrumdiddlyumptious. My family was definitely skeptical but it is GREAT. I cut the sugar down to a cup, and added less allspice as others recommended. I also used lemon zest instead of orange zest, and I think next time I will definitely use more nuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
I'm going to start by saying that I've made some alterations....but followed the basic recipe and it can out great! It didn't taste like it had avocado in it at all. It kinda reminded me of pumpkin bread. I will definitely try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States