Avocado Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by kmaelove
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I thought this recipe sounded really interesting, so I decided to try it! I used whole wheat flour and only 1.5 cups of sugar. I also skipped the orange zest and used greek yogurt instead of buttermilk. They turned out really thick, moist, and delicious! I also made them into muffins. I made 24 muffins for around 130 calories each, not bad at all for a muffin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Pretty good! I initially made this long time ago, and they came out really flat. I guess that was my problem because this time they came out pretty fine. I used walnuts instead of pecan, omitted all spice (didn't want my bread too spicy), used light olive oil instead of butter, used only about 2/3 of sugar called for, and added some chopped apples. I like the final products and will continue to use oil instead of butter to feel less guilty. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
Found this in a search for breads. It is a VERY good bread. We make this at work and it goes very fast. Thank you for a GREAT recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
YUM! This is really good. Followed the recipe exactly. I think the grated orange zest makes it. Used 4 (Haas) avocado. Recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
I modified the spices slightly (reduced Allspice and added nutmeg) and use soy milk due to allergies. I made muffins and baked at 375 for 20 minutes as suggested in other reviews. Sprinkle some raw or Maui sugar on top and you've got a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
This recipe just didnt work for me.It turned out to be thick and tasteless.I actually thought it wasted my avocados.My mom and two kids were completely dissatisfied with the results.My mom actually cut it into pieces and toasted the pieces like toasted bread!!!Something just wasnt working with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chickenjuice

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mombasa, Coast, Kenya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
This was good stuff! I used chopped almonds instead of pecans and craisins in place of raisins. Other than that, I followed recipe exactly (but making the muffin version verses the loaf version).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
I adapted this recipe for muffins (baked for 20 minutes). They were delicious! I skipped the pecans/raisins, because I wanted to distinguish what the avocado brought to the batter. Like others said, you can't identify it as avocado, but it brings a sweetness, richness & moistness that's wonderful. These muffins need no additional flavor to stand out, although I'm sure they taste good with fruit & nuts as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Delicious! I made double this recipe with whole wheat flour and skim milk instead and skipped the raisins. Very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I used our local Avocados (Yucatan) And so the color wasn' so green. Noone could guess that there was avocado in this. I was given about 10 avocados from a friend who had an excess production, so I inmediately came to All recipes to see what recipes for avocado there were. I made several loaves of bread and some muffins. These were SOOOO Good! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oscoda, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States