Avocado Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I really wanted to find something to make with my avocados and when I found this recipe I thought I had hit the jackpot but unfortunately the condensed milk made it too sweet and no matter how long I left it in the refrigerator it didn't seem to want to set. I didn't like it :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I don't like avocado but this recipe is wonderful! Made this twice in one week: trial run and them Thanksgiving. A hit! I had to freeze it both times, but it had a great texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
As I was making the filling the taste of condensed milk was completely overpowering. I increased the lemon juice to about 1/2 cup, added a package of cream cheese (as suggested by other reviewers), but it still tastes like a condensed milk pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
I loved this really. I used one of the comments suggestions to use a graham cracker crust and added the juice from half a lime, but kept the rest the same. it was surprisingly good and was perfect for helping me to treat my depression. only bad thing is it's not exactly like lime pie which is why it's only 4 stars for me. still thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Mae Rusack

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
This is now my summer go to basic recipe for a variety of fruits - not just avocados! I put the mixture in small ramekins instead of pie crust, and they freeze really well. I used 2 avocados to cut down on the sweetness of the milk - 1/4 cup of the lemon juice is just right. Then I also made this using two mangoes put through mini-processor instead of avocado and LOVED it even more. Other fruits would be good like: berries, bananas, peaches, apricots. Great with a dollop of vanilla yogurt to lighten the texture! YUMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Audubon, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
We have huge avocados here, and I got tired of always making avocado milkshakes. Spotted this and haven't turned back since! I agree that it needs to be a LARGE avocado (or 2 small store bought ones) to be good. It's become a family favorite. I make my own cookie crumble crust though since prepared pie shells are unavailable, but I'm certain that the pie shell would be delicious too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
its soooo yummyyyyyyyy I love it, with the same recipe I also made avocado ice cream. Good good good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
I'm giving it a 4 for potential and creativity. I'm used to avocados in savory things not sweet, which I think made it harder for me to enjoy this. On that note this is really easy to make. I used a graham cracker crust and would stick with that. My pie wouldn't set up so I had to freeze it. First bite was good, very sweet, then suddnly felt overwhelmed by the sweet and was left with an avocado after taste that was a little weird for me. I did reduce the lemon juice a little and probably shouldn't have. I may try this with 8+oz of cream cheese next time. Personally I'm not planning on making this again soon, especially with how expensive avocados are. BUT if you like avocados give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I really liked this recipe and amazingly my kids did too! I used a graham cracker crust in place of the pie shell though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
This is the easiest pie ever. Great taste. My family loved it. Easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hakalau, Hawaii, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States