Avocado-Mango Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
Wow! I had a baby shower with way too many appetizers - the only one that was gone was this mango salsa. Costco has some delicious pre cut mango that made this super easy and delicious. Definitely let it sit in the refrigerator for about an hour before to get the full flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Wow - beautiful, healthy, tasty! Modifications -- - Substitute juice of 1 lime for vinegar; - Start with 1/2 tsp salt and go up -- 1 tsp salt is too much for almost any recipe - Would probably be fine w/2 tsp olive oil - 1 Tbs was a little too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
I added a seeded & minced jalapeno to the recipe and served it over red snapper. HEAVEN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUTHIEV

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Highlands, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Great as a reference or starting point, but as is the case with many recipes I adjusted the recipe to suit my own tastes. I eliminated the sugar - for me it was totally unnecessary and may have even been counterproductive. In keeping with the tropical flair of the recipe I substituted fresh lime juice for the vinegar (loved that!) and added some chopped fresh cilantro. For my tastes, four stars as written and an unequivocal five stars with my modifications. Served this alongside crab cakes and there couldn't have been a more ideal accompaniment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
Great salsa or side dish! I used 1/2 cup of purple onion, and added 2 chopped green onions, along with 2 tblsp of chopped cilantro. Also substitued the vinegar with fresh lime juice- terrific over fish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
I love this recipe! I add corn and black beans and serve it with Jerk shrimp and scallops in soft torilla. It's always a hit and tastes so fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
This is so good! My kids and I devoured the whole thing in about 10 minutes. I didn't have a red onion, so I substituted chopped green onion, plus I only used half a large red pepper, and I added chopped cilantro. Crumbled Cojita cheese (a Spanish cheese) would also taste great in this salsa. I think I will be making this again very soon. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa L.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Payson, Utah, USA
Living In: Springville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by crunchy
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
This is delicious! I served it on top of broiled tilapia that I seasoned with lemon pepper. I had brown rice as a side, so I mixed the rest of the rice and salsa together for a tasty lunch :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crunchy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
tangy and sweet! I served it with plantain chips which complemented the salsa well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
Great recipe, thanks! I added two chipotle peppers with adobo sauce (from a can) and we enjoyed the added heat. I have also tried it using sambal oelek as a different"heat" source, and that was great, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gardenridge

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mango Salsa

Watch how to make this sweet, spicy salsa.

Cranberry Salsa

Salsa! An inventive way to use seasonal cranberries.

Annie's Fruit Salsa and Cinnamon Chips

Chips and salsa get a sweet, fruity makeover!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States