Avocado-Mango Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
I have to rate this as written and it had WAY too much oil in it. The flavors were good, but the oil made it almost slimmy. Also this is too much sugar. Cut the sugar in half (or less) and omit the oil altogether and I think it will be really good. Also change the vinegar to lime juice if you have it and add some fresh cilantro. A good idea here, but needs real tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CWUER

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
Amazing!! Brought this to our Cinco de Mayo party and it went really quick. We served it with a spicy pulled pork: the cool sweetness of the salsa really complemented it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pennsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Excellent flavor for a "not hot" salsa. Will consider adding a jalapeno next time for a little heat. Beautiful appearance. Served it with Hawaiin Chicken. Garnished with flower petals. Wonderful presantation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jerry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
Used 1/4 of a small onion, omitted salt, and used lime juice instead of vinegar. I also added a whole jalapeno for a little heat. This was great. I mixed everything together other than the avocado and let it sit in the fridge for 8 hours. Right before I was going to serve I added the avocado. This recipe was a hit at the party. TFS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dancing Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
Outstanding - and easy! Could it get any better?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Great as a reference or starting point, but as is the case with many recipes I adjusted the recipe to suit my own tastes. I eliminated the sugar - for me it was totally unnecessary and may have even been counterproductive. In keeping with the tropical flair of the recipe I substituted fresh lime juice for the vinegar (loved that!) and added some chopped fresh cilantro. For my tastes, four stars as written and an unequivocal five stars with my modifications. Served this alongside crab cakes and there couldn't have been a more ideal accompaniment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Maybe a little to sweet, but very tasty. I added cilantro. A must, in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakeJoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Becarful using fresh red onion because it can taste a little overpowering...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by McBacon
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
This is delicious! I served it on top of broiled tilapia that I seasoned with lemon pepper. I had brown rice as a side, so I mixed the rest of the rice and salsa together for a tasty lunch :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
2011-01-24 I used green onion instead of red & white balsamic instead of white wine vinegar plus omitted the salt. I wasn't keen on the texture of the avocado & thought it could use some cilantro. The overall flavor was good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mango Salsa

Watch how to make this sweet, spicy salsa.

Grilled Pineapple Salsa

Grilled pineapple is the perfect way to switch up salsa.

Cranberry Salsa

Salsa! An inventive way to use seasonal cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States