Avocado-Mango Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Joe1984
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Turned out very good! made it to take to the beach tomorrow , so letting it sit over night to bring the flavor out alil more . Followed the directions as followed but left out the avacodo and added some fresh slices of strawberry to it . Sure looks yummy can't wait to try, all post pic its in clear bowl with fruit container behind it thanks again for recipe :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe1984

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
This was a pretty good starting point, but I did make some changes. Omitted the sugar, replaced the vinegar with lime juice, I used sweet Vidalia onion and I added 1 small, lightly roasted jalapeno for a little heat. I made it well ahead of time so the flavors could meld and added the diced avocado right before serving. Thanks, Julie - this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Very good, I made a couple of changes - we added some cilantro and left out the sugar. We'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
I have made this recipe multiple times for parties/BBQs and everyone raves over it. It is always a big hit and goes fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
I have to rate this as written and it had WAY too much oil in it. The flavors were good, but the oil made it almost slimmy. Also this is too much sugar. Cut the sugar in half (or less) and omit the oil altogether and I think it will be really good. Also change the vinegar to lime juice if you have it and add some fresh cilantro. A good idea here, but needs real tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CWUER

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
Amazing!! Brought this to our Cinco de Mayo party and it went really quick. We served it with a spicy pulled pork: the cool sweetness of the salsa really complemented it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pennsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Excellent flavor for a "not hot" salsa. Will consider adding a jalapeno next time for a little heat. Beautiful appearance. Served it with Hawaiin Chicken. Garnished with flower petals. Wonderful presantation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jerry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
Used 1/4 of a small onion, omitted salt, and used lime juice instead of vinegar. I also added a whole jalapeno for a little heat. This was great. I mixed everything together other than the avocado and let it sit in the fridge for 8 hours. Right before I was going to serve I added the avocado. This recipe was a hit at the party. TFS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dancing Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
Outstanding - and easy! Could it get any better?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Great as a reference or starting point, but as is the case with many recipes I adjusted the recipe to suit my own tastes. I eliminated the sugar - for me it was totally unnecessary and may have even been counterproductive. In keeping with the tropical flair of the recipe I substituted fresh lime juice for the vinegar (loved that!) and added some chopped fresh cilantro. For my tastes, four stars as written and an unequivocal five stars with my modifications. Served this alongside crab cakes and there couldn't have been a more ideal accompaniment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mango Salsa

Watch how to make this sweet, spicy salsa.

Annie's Fruit Salsa and Cinnamon Chips

Chips and salsa get a sweet, fruity makeover!

How to Make Rockin' Salsa

See how to make amazing homemade tomato and hot pepper salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States