Avocado-Lime Shrimp Salad (Ensalada de Camarones con Aguacate y Limon) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
I made this dish many times this summer and loved it more each time. A crowd pleaser and so pretty too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
This was a wonderful summer dish. Perfect for lite simple meal. I added little extra lime juice and a cucumber for the perfect dinner salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milledgeville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Winder, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
This was excellent! My grocery store did not have yellow tomatoes so i just used 2 red tomatoes, 1 yellow bell pepper and 1 jalapeno. Next time I will add another jalapeno. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
WOW! this salad was a great hit, i did a baby shower for one of my greatest friends I made it for 25 people and at the end of the party it was all gone!!I served it with tostadas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
This was a fabulous salad however I used the dressing from the "Mexican Bean Salad" on Allrecipes and it was even better than just lime juice. I also added frozen corn and some diced jalepeno. WONDERFUL!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim A

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gahanna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
I have some suggestions to make this a five star recipe. The suggested "kick" needed is not the perfect dressing, but is, instead, the perfect blend of spices-- garlic and a little cayenne pepper or diced jalapeno. For those who wish to marinate more then 15 minutes, wait to add the avocado until just before serving, otherwise it gets soggy. And if you want to marinate overnight, there is no need to cook the shrimp at all, as the lime juice will do so. I sauteed the shrimp lightly with olive oil and a bit of Cajun spices, then added all the ingredients plus garlic, cayenne pepper and a bit of red onion. Then I marinated it for an hour. My husband and I spent a year in Baja MX and Central America and we ate all versions of this dish, so we have tasted it all! He had two helpings and finished his plate. This version is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
This was pretty good although next time I will use less bell pepper (I used red and yellow) and add another veggie to the mix. For seasoning, I used kosher salt and garlic pepper. The lime juice was wonderful in this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ronalyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
Loved this!!! I used 60-70 count shrimp Because I like the way they look whole. I also used the whole lime and omitted the pepper. This dish just looks and tastes like summer. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
I made this tonight & it was delicious. I went to the store & got home & realized that I did not have all the veggies that I needed so I improvised. 1st I boiled the shrimps w/old bay & onion & garlic. I thinly sliced the onions, cubed the avocado & cut the shrimp into bite size pieces. I then squirted fresh lime juice over the top. I let it set for about 15 mins, the kids could not wait to eat it. It was a HIT!!! Everyone loved it, even the hubby!! I cut my avocado too small, so it kind of made it like a dressing because it was all smashed. Next time if I make it for a group, I will keep the avocado pieces bigger. This dish was even better a few hours later!! My hubby said to add cucumbers next time. Next time, I'll try and add the tomatoes. Mine are still green in the garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
We give this 5 stars after our minor changes! We added some olive oil and some freshly minced garlic. Excellent summer salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Shrimp and Pasta Shells Salad

See how to make a creamy shrimp salad with pasta shells.

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States