Avocado-Lime Shrimp Salad (Ensalada de Camarones con Aguacate y Limon) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
This recipe was absolutely fabulous. I made it in November, so the tomatoes were not the best, but it still came out fantastic. I used a yellow bell pepper for color, I think red would go well too. Use the lime juice like the recipe calls for and let it set in the refrigerator for more than 15 minutes (I left it overnight). Allows the flavors to blend. Everyone in my wine class loved it. I can't wait to try it again with home-grown tomatoes next summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by redbudval

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, California, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
Since I love all the individual ingredients (avocado, shrimp, pepper, tomato, CILANTRO, etc) that part was yummy. However, as much as I like a nice salad with EVOO, lime juice, salt and pepper, I found the same boring on this shrimp salad. As the submitter says in her heading, trying a favorite salad dressing might work. The base ingredients are great... finding the right dressing combination could make it a five star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia_Marcia_Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Studio City, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
I was surprised how great this was even without any oil in the dressing--there's something about that lime juice and avocado together. Definitely let it sit for at least 15 minutes (I left mine for a few hours) because the flavors really come out after it's "rested" for a bit. I will make this again for sure. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChicCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
This by itself is goob but if you mix it with low sodium V8 juice,hot sauce, and celery salt, and worshestire sauce for a nice shrimp cocktail. Serve with crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSBHAVENOKIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Harcourt, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
No EVOO in this. Try a more original idea. Lots of ideas for something special to put over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
My 17 yr old son found this recipe in a magazine and used jalapeno peppers instead of the green peppers. He removed the seeds, but it still had a nice kick to it. We served it with some seared scallops and it made a wonderful summer meal. Its like cerviche, so it would be good with tortilla chips too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
We give this 5 stars after our minor changes! We added some olive oil and some freshly minced garlic. Excellent summer salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
I made this tonight & it was delicious. I went to the store & got home & realized that I did not have all the veggies that I needed so I improvised. 1st I boiled the shrimps w/old bay & onion & garlic. I thinly sliced the onions, cubed the avocado & cut the shrimp into bite size pieces. I then squirted fresh lime juice over the top. I let it set for about 15 mins, the kids could not wait to eat it. It was a HIT!!! Everyone loved it, even the hubby!! I cut my avocado too small, so it kind of made it like a dressing because it was all smashed. Next time if I make it for a group, I will keep the avocado pieces bigger. This dish was even better a few hours later!! My hubby said to add cucumbers next time. Next time, I'll try and add the tomatoes. Mine are still green in the garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
Loved this!!! I used 60-70 count shrimp Because I like the way they look whole. I also used the whole lime and omitted the pepper. This dish just looks and tastes like summer. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
This was pretty good although next time I will use less bell pepper (I used red and yellow) and add another veggie to the mix. For seasoning, I used kosher salt and garlic pepper. The lime juice was wonderful in this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ronalyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Shrimp and Pasta Shells Salad

See how to make a creamy shrimp salad with pasta shells.

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States