Avocado Lime Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2009
Like another reviewer said, it tastes like a light key lime pie. I also did not use an ice cream maker. I just spooned the mixture right into the crust and put it in the freezer for a few hours. I used a shortbread pie crust instead of the graham cracker crust. I took this to a family get-together and at first they were skeptical, but in the end there were no leftovers! Very yummy end to a hot day in GA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Excellent, excellent, excellent! I have found another way to prepare avocados! I made this tonight and because I didn't have an ice cream machine, I followed the advice of some of the other members and froze it! After dinner and cleaning up the dishes, I took the pie out and cut two slices for myself anf for my husband. We both enjoyed this so much and I have a feeling this won't last long! I used a prepared graham cracker crust that I had, followed the ingredients and all I can say is WOW! The only thing I might do different when I make this again is probably add a little more cream cheese and perhaps some vanilla extract. I used light cream and liked the taste! The avocados I used were slightly over riped but they worked just fine. I will purchase fresh and ripe avocados the next time and really have great pie! Thank you for submitting this recipe! My grandson loves avocados and I do believe he will like this as much as we did! Thanks again! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rome, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
Amazing! Didn't have an ice cream maker. Threw it in the freezer, took it out a few hours later and used hand blender... then froze it until i served it the following day. My friends LOVED IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
I've made this incredible dish three times with rave reviews. I did not have an icecream maker so just froze it in a glass dish. I served it in champagne glasses, sprikled it with extra-dark chocolate shavings with a dab of whipped heavy cream. I used fresh edible flowers and mint leaves for garnish! It looked beautiful and tasted even better! Great Dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Fabulous! I made per recipe originally, with an ice cream maker, then made two more pies for Bunco night...adding 2 tsp lime zest to bump up the lime flavor. I did make the cream/sugar mix the night before and chilled, and used chilled ripe avocados to help it freeze up faster, and it worked well. This is a keeper and so creamy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannine

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
The dessert is amazing, we were impressed. I made it without an icecream maker. The taste was very unusual, delicate, and refreshing, a great summertime treat. You really don`t feel avocados in it. I made it in a springform and depending on your springform, you may feel you need more avocado filling, I had 28 cm springform and the avocado layer was a little thin, so next time I will use more ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I'd eat the ice cream by itself because it's so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
What can I say about this.....? It was great. And no...no one could tell it had avocados in it. Unless I told them....it tasted like a lime ice cream treat. I wouldn't call this a cheesecake at all. Even though it had it in there, you could only taste that slightly. It was more or less....to me and my family like ice cream. I used my ice cream maker with this, and it froze very well. It could go great by it's self in a bowl with a spoon or in a graham cracker crust, but it melts fast too. So don't let it sit out long. Or you'll have a serious mess on your hands. My family liked it and said it tasted really good. And we had never tried anything like this, so it was a total change of flavor for us. I had to double the batch because I didn't want to waste any avocados and we don't find 3oz pkg of cream cheese around here. Thank you, I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
This was very easy to make (I used an ice cream maker). It was a nice refreshing desert that wasn't too heavy. A great way to top off taco night! I added a splash of tequila when the filling was in the ice cream maker which was a delicious twist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HECTORBOYARDEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
I made this recipe without a icecream maker. I mixed in my blender and then poured into pie shell and froze. I did exactly the recipe and it was fabulous. I took it to work along with chicken taco soup. My co-workers could not believe there were avocados in there. The only thing is you can't leave it out long or it will get to soft. But the taste is great and it is a very light key lime pie. I garnished mine with small lime wedges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sopapilla Cheesecake Dessert

A deliciously different cheesecake with a Mexican twist.

White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake

Make this creamy white chocolate raspberry cheesecake.

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States