Avocado Lime Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Excellent dessert for taco night!! Super fresh and light! I didn't have an ice cream maker so just played it by ear. Didn't use a crust either (no graham crackers in Australia!!) so instead, after prepping the cream and processing the avos/cheese/lime, I whisked the two together and poured them into little ramekins and froze them - 6 hours later they were rock solid (possibly sooner didn't check). Moved them into the fridge and 1 hour later they were perfect. Garnished with thin candied lime and chopped pistachios (you eat with your eyes too!) Only negative is that you can barely taste the avocados. I used just over half of the lime juice needed, so if you want to taste the avos maybe use even less. Still it is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
I have made this recipe and it is amazing. However, I made some adjustments and substitutions. I used 2 avocados, 2/3 cup of key lime juice, I substituted 14 oz. of fat free sweetened condensed milk for the cream, I added a tsp. of grated lime zest to amp up the lime flavor and divided the mixture among 12 individual graham cracker crusts and popped them in the freezer for two hours. Serve with some cool whip and a sprinkle of finely chopped pistachios! Yum!!My husband hates avocado, but he gobbled up two of these delicious tarts and had no idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
I used a blender and froze it in the blender and then added it to the pie crust. It was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Thank you for a delicious recipe! I was skeptical, but this is amazing! I'm not a fan of key lime pie because it is typically too tart, but this was just right!! I got tired of squeezing limes and getting hardly any juice, so I used about 1/4 cup of fresh lime juice and subbed in the stuff from the plastic lime for the other 1/4 cup. Still amazing!! I also made my own graham cracker crust. I did not use an ice cream maker. I processed everything in the food processor until smooth and then poured it into the pie crust and froze overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Life Tastes Good

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Clay
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
AVACADO? Color me skeptical but I was just curious enough to try it. It's not something I would serve at every party, but I was amazed at how delicious the flavors were together. So easy and a real keeper in my recipe files.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
Wow. This almost didn't make it to the pie crust to become a cheesecake. This makes a great ice cream. I thought I wouldn't be able to taste the avocado but I can and it's awesome. In fact, I'm going to save it as an ice cream recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
Great lime pie... oh! that's right I did put avocado's in it too! I used half and half that was on hand, and used a 9 inch pie plate. This is awesome! Next time I make this, I will use the springform pan as another reviewer suggested since it IS rock-hard to cut. Yum-mi!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSMOON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Suffield, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I made this, slightly tweaked! I took 2 avocados, 1 small tub of light cool whip, juice from 2 limes, 1 can evaporated milk, just under 2/3 cup sugar and mixed it really well in our vitamix (I'm sure any blender would work great) to smooth it out and poured it into a ready made graham cracker crust and froze it. It turned out wonderful and was super easy!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
I have mixed feelings about this dish. It came out well, several people said they loved it and I enjoy eating it. However, it freezes too hard, is too hard to cut when frozen and the avocado seems wasted, because we can hardly taste it. I suppose it acts as natural food coloring, and it adds nutritional value, but I was hoping for a play on the flavor. So, I'm experimenting. I added more avocados, and I'm adding gelatin or xanthan gum to improve the consistency. I'm hoping I can keep the mix from un-mixing, too, after it sets in my refrigerator for a few days. The mix really is like ice cream, so why not go all the way and treat it like regular ice cream? I also adjusted the recipe for a 9-inch pie (why use an 8-inch?). I adjusted for 2 pies, as I wanted to see what adding a mango puree to 1 pie would do. That seemed to work OK. As I often do in my calculations, I made a mistake, and now I'm eating a large tub of avocado-lime cheesecake filling by itself. Oh, the horror!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
This recipeis really creamy and delicious! It's almost like keylime pie. The only thing I had to change out of necessity was making a homemade graham cracker crust. I love that the avocado replaces some of the fat that would have come from using an additional box of cream cheese from another recipe. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sopapilla Cheesecake Dessert

A deliciously different cheesecake with a Mexican twist.

PAM® Sopapilla Cheesecake Pie

See how to make tangy sopapilla cheesecake pie.

Honey Maid Cheesecake

This delicious, slightly decadent cheesecake is a snap to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States