Avocado Lime Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Thank you for a delicious recipe! I was skeptical, but this is amazing! I'm not a fan of key lime pie because it is typically too tart, but this was just right!! I got tired of squeezing limes and getting hardly any juice, so I used about 1/4 cup of fresh lime juice and subbed in the stuff from the plastic lime for the other 1/4 cup. Still amazing!! I also made my own graham cracker crust. I did not use an ice cream maker. I processed everything in the food processor until smooth and then poured it into the pie crust and froze overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Life Tastes Good

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Clay
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
AVACADO? Color me skeptical but I was just curious enough to try it. It's not something I would serve at every party, but I was amazed at how delicious the flavors were together. So easy and a real keeper in my recipe files.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
Wow. This almost didn't make it to the pie crust to become a cheesecake. This makes a great ice cream. I thought I wouldn't be able to taste the avocado but I can and it's awesome. In fact, I'm going to save it as an ice cream recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
Great lime pie... oh! that's right I did put avocado's in it too! I used half and half that was on hand, and used a 9 inch pie plate. This is awesome! Next time I make this, I will use the springform pan as another reviewer suggested since it IS rock-hard to cut. Yum-mi!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSMOON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Suffield, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I made this, slightly tweaked! I took 2 avocados, 1 small tub of light cool whip, juice from 2 limes, 1 can evaporated milk, just under 2/3 cup sugar and mixed it really well in our vitamix (I'm sure any blender would work great) to smooth it out and poured it into a ready made graham cracker crust and froze it. It turned out wonderful and was super easy!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
I have mixed feelings about this dish. It came out well, several people said they loved it and I enjoy eating it. However, it freezes too hard, is too hard to cut when frozen and the avocado seems wasted, because we can hardly taste it. I suppose it acts as natural food coloring, and it adds nutritional value, but I was hoping for a play on the flavor. So, I'm experimenting. I added more avocados, and I'm adding gelatin or xanthan gum to improve the consistency. I'm hoping I can keep the mix from un-mixing, too, after it sets in my refrigerator for a few days. The mix really is like ice cream, so why not go all the way and treat it like regular ice cream? I also adjusted the recipe for a 9-inch pie (why use an 8-inch?). I adjusted for 2 pies, as I wanted to see what adding a mango puree to 1 pie would do. That seemed to work OK. As I often do in my calculations, I made a mistake, and now I'm eating a large tub of avocado-lime cheesecake filling by itself. Oh, the horror!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
This recipeis really creamy and delicious! It's almost like keylime pie. The only thing I had to change out of necessity was making a homemade graham cracker crust. I love that the avocado replaces some of the fat that would have come from using an additional box of cream cheese from another recipe. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
WOW this is so good. I followed the recipe to a T and it was amazing. Used a gram cust i found on here that had cinnamon in it. I would really recommend it because the cinn. really complements the lime. Does taste just like key lime pie. OH, and i didnt have an ice cream maker so i just had it, put it in the cooled crust and froze it. It lasted us all week being frozen(its justme and hubby to feed)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by a_hurst

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
The dessert is amazing, we were impressed. I made it without an icecream maker. The taste was very unusual, delicate, and refreshing, a great summertime treat. You really don`t feel avocados in it. I made it in a springform and depending on your springform, you may feel you need more avocado filling, I had 28 cm springform and the avocado layer was a little thin, so next time I will use more ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I'd eat the ice cream by itself because it's so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sopapilla Cheesecake Dessert

A deliciously different cheesecake with a Mexican twist.

White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake

Make this creamy white chocolate raspberry cheesecake.

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States