Avocado Green Goddess Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Very impressive and couldn't be simpler to make!!If you substitute nonfat yogurt for the mayonnaise you can eliminate almost all of the fat in this high-fat food while retaining the fiber, potassium, vitamin E, B-vitamins, folic acid, and other nutrients. Fage (pronounced “fa-yeh”) nonfat yogurt is very thick and creamy and will NOT interfere with other flavors. 1 tablespoon of mayo is 90 calories, 10 grams of fat, 5 mg cholesterol, multiply them by the 1 cup (which has 16 tablespoons in it) called for in the recipe and you now have 1,440 calories, 160 grams of fat, and 80 mg cholesterol!! 1 cup of fage nonfat yogurt is a Total of 120 calories, No fat, No cholesterol, and plus you get 20 grams of protein. I used the yogurt and kept the rest of recipe the same and it was delicious!! If you want to use chives in place of green onion you can, and for those of you who don’t want to deal with the messy anchovy fillets, you can use Giovanni’s anchovy paste. 1 hour of chill time was sufficient. Thank you Lisa! Your recipe is full of flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sabra Bartlett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Russellville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2003
This dressing was easy and really yummy! I used sour cream instead of mayo and it was still thick so i thinned with Buttermilk till the consistency was right, about 2 Tbs. This topped a romaine lettuce salad full of eggs, warm bacon, anchovies, and roasted nuts -- perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
Taking the reviews into consideration, the only thing I changed was the mayo. Instead of 1 cup, I used 2/3 cup mayo and 1/3 cup sour cream. Man, this is the BEST dressing...creamy, flavorful, no fishy taste. Just outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GSKREMSER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
MY BAD. I made this 'LITE'...As usual, I put my own spin on this; but overall, delish! Instead of all the mayo, I used 1/4 cup lite mayo and 3/4 cup plain stirred yogurt. Chopped fine some celery in addition to the green onions, and then added some fresh cilantro at the end. Let the flavours marry in fridge!OMG! Tasty AND HEALTHY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chicgeek

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2001
A little messy to make but worth it for the great texture and flavor. Was very good. I improvised a bit by using more avocado, more lemon and less mayonaise and it was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2001
Very tasty, I'm going to try and substitute sour cream for the mayo and see what happens. This is a great tasting recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
Good recipe - I made some modifications. I left out the anchovies. I decreased the amount of mayo to about a little less than 1/2 cup and used reduces fat mayo. I increased the lemon juice to about 2 tbsp. and added a pinch of sugar to cut the tartness a bit. I also added some freshly chopped basil to it. It is a very thick dressing so you don't need a lot to cover the salad. I made it about 1 hour before I served the salad. I used it on a romaine salad with red onions, shredded carrots and chopped mixed peppers. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
LOVE THIS DRESSING!! I made this with 1/2 mayo & sour cream-just the right consistency and texture. My hubby HATES anchovies, so I used anchovy paste & didn't tell him. He kept telling me he loved this dressing, but he said he he couldn't tell what I put into it. After 25 yrs. of marrage bliss I know when to keep a secret!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
I love avocados and green goddess dressing, but this wasn't as tasty as I hoped. The buttery richness of the avocadoes was there and that was about it. The flavor was meh and didn't improve when slathered on shrimp, greens or even crispy orange bell peppers. My search for a lower fat Green Goddess recipe continues . . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2007
This dressing tastes good and is very refreshing if you chill it in the fridge. After reading the other reviews, I made this with sour cream (low-fat) instead of mayo and added some low-fat buttermilk to thin it out. I increased the avacado and green onion as well. I served it on a salad of romaine with hard boiled eggs, and very crisp bacon like one reviewer suggested. FYI this has a pretty strong anchovy taste, so beware of using extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Green Goddess Dressing

See how to make creamy, herby Green Goddess dressing.

Green Goddess Salad Dressing

It’s the classic green salad dressing starring tarragon and parsley.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States