Avocado Egg Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
Can't think of two things I enjoy more than egg salad and avocados. Combined, this was so delicious and makes a great lunch or even appy. I didn't measure the mayo or use the sliced eggs as I was just making this for myself. Also added in a few seasonings as I would normally do for either egg salad for guac. Thank you so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
This is a great recipe...Can also add baby shrimp, and serve on a crisp lettuce leaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
I liked this - it's SO rich and creamy! But is was a little lacklustre for me as is. It needed more flavor, color, some crunch and some contrast in textures. To begin with, I used green onion rather than red, since that's what I had, but I don't think I would have particularly liked the bite of the red onion anyway (nor, probably, would anyone standing close to me). I added the expected and predictable celery, but I also threw in some cooked, crumbled bacon. Really delicious. I would have loved this on a sandwich but I didn't want to mess with this perfect, low-carb lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Was pretty good - only needed salt and pepper. I love egg salad and avocados. Leftovers are not good so make just what you can eat right away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Alamos, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
Very tasty! I went a little lighter on the mayo, and added some crumbled bacon and cayenne pepper for a little kick. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lambertville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
I love both avocado and egg so I was really looking forward to this. I read all the reviews in advance and so knew that for our tastes I should add celery and bacon as others have suggested. My problem with the recipe is that, in my opinion, the avocado/egg ratio is off. I halved the recipe so started with 3 avocados and 3 chopped eggs. The avocado completely overwhelmed the egg so I ended up adding 3 more chopped eggs to the 3 avocados. That was much more balanced. Even with the addition of celery and bacon, we still felt this was on the bland side. We added in another 1/2 cup of onion and also added several shakes of Louisiana hot sauce to the mayo and milk mixture. Those changes resulted in something quite good, but the original proportions of the recipe were, for us, not the most appealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutchgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Nice, but nothing special, really
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
it was ok. would have just preferred the egg salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by judy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Goleta, California, USA
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Great way to enjoy avacado. I added a little salt to bring at the flavor a little better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Yummy!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desiree

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Delicious Egg Salad for Sandwiches

See how to make a classic egg salad for sandwiches and crackers.

Egg Salad I

See how to make an egg salad with lots of tangy mustard and dill weed.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States