Avocado Egg Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
This was a nice option for using up avocados and eggs. Yum. My only modification was using dijon mustard. You can avoidthe dicoloration when storing if you put ONE avocado pit in the container with the salad before sealing tightly (just like storing guac).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warne, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
I make this recipe but add two tbsp of jarred pimientos, one tbsp balsamic vinegar, and 1/4 cup diced celery...delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
I added Texas 1015's instead of the red onions. We loved it. When storing for left overs place plastic wrap driectly on top and press down lightly. This will help with the discoloration of the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Borger, Texas, USA
Living In: Floydada, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I got the lap band a few months ago and had to be on 2 weeks of liquids and 2 weeks of mushy foods after the surgery. It got old, so I went looking for something new I could do with eggs and avocado. When I saw this recipe I was dubious. Having tasted all these ingredients separately, I just didn't see them tasting good together lol. Boy was I wrong. OMG this is so yummy! Even now that I'm not on mushies anymore, I still make this for lunch weekly. I always try to figure out what makes all these things taste good together, I think it's the sweet pickles. I use a pre-made sweet pickle relish cause I'm lazy lol, it really just ties everything together. So don't doubt it, try it! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Purse Junkie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
I used to get something similar to this at a deli but it was called the Yankee Doodle and served on soft sub roll. Only the sliced avacodo was sliced along with strips of fried bacon. Yumm.. one of my favs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gammy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
Very tasty and easy. I diced everything instead of mashing. Excellent sandwiches too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hunter1953

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
Can also add some diced, seeded Roma tomato's...This really is a refreshing salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
This was surprisingly delicious. The color was weird and only got weirder as leftovers, but if you can get past that and give it a taste, you'll forgive the appearance immediately. I did not have a fresh red onion, so used dried chopped onions instead. The sweet pickles really made the dish, I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
My daughter had friends over for a sleepover. They wanted egg salad for lunch. I mad this and the typical egg salad. This one was gone before the typical.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
Really easy to make and tasted great. For me it is new way to enjoy avocado and the avocado texture really compliments the mash eggs. I forgot to put salt and pepper in mine and still it was delicious. I served it in a lettuce wrap instead of with bread. I also used Branston Pickle Relish (English) instead of regular pickle relish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temple Hills, Maryland, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Delicious Egg Salad for Sandwiches

See how to make a classic egg salad for sandwiches and crackers.

How to Make Egg Salad

See how to make a simple, satisfying egg salad.

Egg Salad I

See how to make an egg salad with lots of tangy mustard and dill weed.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States