Avocado Dressing I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
Excellent recipe! Left out the cottage cheese because we don't keep it around and I didn't want to buy a whole pint just for this recipe. We didn't miss it as the recipe still turned out amazing. The one thing I found though was that "makes 8 servings" is very true. Perhaps even 10. I wasn't paying attention to that and had way too much left over for just 4 people. My bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
I was looking for a regular blue cheese dressing recipe because I didn't want the ready-made dressing and I came across this recipe. Since I'm trying to eat more healthy, I thought I give this a try especially because avocado is an ingredient. I really like this dressing. The only con to this dressing is that it's a little too thick particularly when it was in the blender. I added a little milk to liquify the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
Fabulous dressing! I did decrease the blue cheese to 1/4 of a cup, but only since I knew some of my kids don't like blue cheese much. They gobbled this dressing right up! So delicious! I added a few TBSP of milk to thin it a bit, but this dressing is also delicious without any changes. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MY9HUNGRYKIDS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I like avocados and I like blue cheese. But I was disappointed with the recipe because I felt that the taste of the blue cheese completely overpowered the avocado. I'm glad I just sprinkled the blue cheese on my salad because I enjoyed the remaining dressing much better as a dip with tortilla chips. I'd make this again in dip form without the blue cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2005
I found this recipe too thick to blend in a blender...I added some vanilla yogurt to thin it down and it was still too thick for salad dressing. The flavor was ok. I will probably not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
I used Feta cheese instead of Blue Cheese for this and chopped a bit of an onion instead of using onion salt. This was good, but at first the consistency was more that of a dip no matter how much I blended it, so I had to add milk. I tasted it after adding a tiny bit, and decided that I would use it as a dip after all, instead of a dressing because I didn't think it'd taste good on my regular garden salad. Would be great for a taco salad, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2004
I was out of dressing and had some avocados I needed to use, so I found this recipe! I didn't have a few of the items so I substituted mayo for sour cream, red wine vinegar for lemon juice, and feta cheese for cottage cheese. The only problem I ran into was it wasn't creamy enough for the blender to blend so I added a little bit of water and milk (if I'd have thought of it first I just would've added milk). I just finished my salad, it was deelicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Marble Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2003
this was very good over all, i am not a fan of blue cheese so next time i will not be adding as much of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Raspberry Vinaigrette Dressing

Raspberry wine vinegar and Dijon mustard make an irresistible salad dressing.

Cilantro-Lime Dressing

A tangy dressing that’s perfect with grilled chicken salads.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States