Avocado Dressing I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
Excellent recipe! Left out the cottage cheese because we don't keep it around and I didn't want to buy a whole pint just for this recipe. We didn't miss it as the recipe still turned out amazing. The one thing I found though was that "makes 8 servings" is very true. Perhaps even 10. I wasn't paying attention to that and had way too much left over for just 4 people. My bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
I was looking for a regular blue cheese dressing recipe because I didn't want the ready-made dressing and I came across this recipe. Since I'm trying to eat more healthy, I thought I give this a try especially because avocado is an ingredient. I really like this dressing. The only con to this dressing is that it's a little too thick particularly when it was in the blender. I added a little milk to liquify the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
Fabulous dressing! I did decrease the blue cheese to 1/4 of a cup, but only since I knew some of my kids don't like blue cheese much. They gobbled this dressing right up! So delicious! I added a few TBSP of milk to thin it a bit, but this dressing is also delicious without any changes. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MY9HUNGRYKIDS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I like avocados and I like blue cheese. But I was disappointed with the recipe because I felt that the taste of the blue cheese completely overpowered the avocado. I'm glad I just sprinkled the blue cheese on my salad because I enjoyed the remaining dressing much better as a dip with tortilla chips. I'd make this again in dip form without the blue cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2005
I found this recipe too thick to blend in a blender...I added some vanilla yogurt to thin it down and it was still too thick for salad dressing. The flavor was ok. I will probably not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
I used Feta cheese instead of Blue Cheese for this and chopped a bit of an onion instead of using onion salt. This was good, but at first the consistency was more that of a dip no matter how much I blended it, so I had to add milk. I tasted it after adding a tiny bit, and decided that I would use it as a dip after all, instead of a dressing because I didn't think it'd taste good on my regular garden salad. Would be great for a taco salad, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2004
I was out of dressing and had some avocados I needed to use, so I found this recipe! I didn't have a few of the items so I substituted mayo for sour cream, red wine vinegar for lemon juice, and feta cheese for cottage cheese. The only problem I ran into was it wasn't creamy enough for the blender to blend so I added a little bit of water and milk (if I'd have thought of it first I just would've added milk). I just finished my salad, it was deelicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Marble Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2003
this was very good over all, i am not a fan of blue cheese so next time i will not be adding as much of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Raspberry Vinaigrette Dressing

Raspberry wine vinegar and Dijon mustard make an irresistible salad dressing.

Cilantro-Lime Dressing

A tangy dressing that’s perfect with grilled chicken salads.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States