Avocado Cheesecake with Walnut Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
I just made this after finding it in a search for light cheesecakes and buying ingredients on my way home last night. I modified a little - I forgot to bake a full 20 minutes, but then I have a convection oven so the crust should be fine. I used one giant avocado, added four packets of Stevia and some fresh squeezed lemon juice, and left the zest in. In my opinion it is rather delicious, but I will have to see what the ladies think at our church meeting this evening. I will be making a raspberry sauce to top it off. I have had good success in the past using my VitaMix to puree raspberries with chia seeds to thicken, and will add some Stevia if necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
This "cheesecake's" texture was a little off-putting. Not thick like a cheesecake, but definitely silky and creamy. Like others, I also tasted a key lime undertone. It definitely needs the raspberry sauce for the sweetness. I can't say I disliked it, but it wasn't a dessert my family cared for, not even my avocado-loving daughter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Photo by Lindseye117
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
This cheesecake is anything but cheesecake. It is not sweet at all. Think of a bland avocado pudding. The consistency is like gelled avocado. It reminds me of those old cookbooks from the 50's and 60's that have nothing but gelatin recipes. The raspberry sauce is this only saving grace, and that is a serving suggestion not the recipe itself. My family wouldn't touch it. I followed the recipe exactly as written as well. I really wanted to like this, but I just couldn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindseye117

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Friendswood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jaana Smith Bauman
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
This was delicious! It was VERY sweet to us! I followed the recipe as written, but didn't use any low-fat ingredients as our family only buys whole fat foods. We used organic evaporated cane juice. I served it with my homemade chocolate raspberry sauce and raspberries! The whole family nodded in approval with stuffed mouths! If I didn't make it, I would never have guessed the green was avocados! Very creative recipe! I'll be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaana Smith Bauman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Camano Island, Washington, USA
Photo by TheLogHomeKitchen
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
I was pleasantly surprised how delicious this was! Consider this to be a very light and guilt-free dessert, especially when topped with a fruit medley. Hubs, my taste tester, practically licked the plate clean. Thank you Avocados from Mexico for a fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheLogHomeKitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA
Living In: Salmon, Idaho, USA
Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
If you like different and unique, this is for you! It tastes like gently sweetened avocados, and the texture is silky and smooth--the crust is wonderful. I baked it the night before serving, and in true avocado fashion the top browned a little, so if you want to preserve the color, bake the morning you plan on serving it. I served it with the Raspberry Sauce recipe from this site (just type Raspberry Sauce and it's the very first one), and it was great. My kids were hesitant to try it, but this would be neat served for a Cinco de Mayo dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Diana71
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
I made this recipe with a homemade strawberry sauce...the sauce is a must to counter the fairly savory taste of the cheesecake. It had a muted key lime pie taste to it...I used freshly grated lemon zest. Wasn't a fan of the consistency, but other than that, this would probably make a good pudding, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Very very good! Sort of like key lime... but better! I skipped the raspberry sauce and sprinkled it with chocolate flakes and fresh raspberries! Definitely will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake

Make this creamy white chocolate raspberry cheesecake.

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States