Avocado Cheese Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
I made my own self rising cornmeal mix using whole wheat flour. Then, I used the required amount of Greek yogurt when cutting the recipe in half! This is a light, delicate bread! It made a great breakfast treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
This was not at all the cheesecake I was expecting. I was told from a customer at an old job that "avocado cheesecake is the best kind of cheesecake you'll ever have". I suppose I should have looked at other recipes before trying this one. It is not a traditional New York-style cheesecake, but rather an avocado cheese cornbread. I baked it for a few extra minutes because it did not turn "golden brown", and even then it only cooked about a half-inch through, while remaining a gritty mush underneath. However, I believe I have learned a valuable lesson and am looking forward to making an actual avocado cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
I made this really without looking at the reviews. it just sounded really interesting and I LOVE avocado.. but this was not good. Even my husband who eats anything I put in front of him refused to eat it. sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tarpon Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
When I shopped for ingredients, I cannot get the self-rising cornmeal, so I substitute with self-rising flours. It works out find in my case and tasty as well. One thing quite impressive - easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
My housemates and I did not care for this recipe at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2004
Call me crazy, but I don't think the "Mexican-style cheese" in this recipe refers to "cheese with Mexican spices" as a previous reviewer put it. It's a dessert, after all. I think a better substitution might be ricotta cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEG18

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2003
Sorry... it was not good... we ended up tossing the whole thing - we couldn't even describe the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSDORKY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Islip, New York, USA
Living In: Portola Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2002
If you make this recipe, follow it to the letter. To the letter. I did the usual substititutions (cheddar cheese and mexican spices for the mexican cheese and plain yogurt, sugar, and lemon juice for the lemon yogurt), as per ingredient necessity, and it was good--for a laugh. I made it for a family bake-off and won "Most Humorous Entry." It tasted terrible. Terrible. But the submitter was right--it did become a "conversation piece" and "the center attention for days afterward." Did it ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2001
Delicious with a wonderful texture. Although cornbreads themselves are not meant to be sweet, to this sugar hound, it needed to be much more sweetness, the second time around I added about 2/3 cup more of sweetener (I use Splenda-tm). Good for snacking. It could almost be a bread without sweetener, using plain yogurt and adding jalapenos. Any takers?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States