Avocado Banana and Walnut Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
Made these this morning and they were a big hit!!! I enjoy reading reviews before I try a recipe to see if there are any suggested changes I might enjoy. I did make a few. I did not have walnuts on hand so I substituted pecans. May change that to 3/4 cup next time...we love nuts! Because of some dietary needs at our house, I made them gluten free by using rice flour. Went dairy free as well by substituting coconut milk. Left out the salt and added a teaspoon each of cinnamon and vanilla. I hear my daughter now asking for another...I'm all smiles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mocksville, North Carolina, USA
Photo by Renee
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
Wonderful easy muffins. I used whole wheat flour and brown rice flour, which gave it a heartier texture and fiber. Decreased the sugar by 1/4 cup and it was just enough, not very sweet but moist. Might try adding flax seed and cinnamon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
Great recipe!! I omitted walnut, used brown sugar instead and added semi sweet chocolate chips, YUMMY!! Definitely will make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
I used 3 bananas & 1 avocado. Half cup sugar, tsp vanilla, and cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Very moist and good eating My friends have all tried them and love them They have a unique taste . When I first made them I cut back on the sugar but I found that they seem to lack taste so now I follw the recipe (English Lass )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
These muffins don't seem very sweet when they come out of the oven and are eaten warm. Oddly enough, they seem sweeter at room temp. I actually liked them better after they cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Photo by RealCookingDiva
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
This recipe was a big hit! I actually made them without eggs cuz I was out but they still tasted really delicious. I had to add another 1/2 cup of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RealCookingDiva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA
Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Delicious! I opted to use half brown sugar and half white sugar and since most banana muffins have a little spice I added 1 tsp. of cinnamon along with a couple heaping teaspoons of vanilla. These came out very moist and tasted so good my husband had no idea there was avocado in it - until he noticed the light green color... What's great about these muffins are the avocado takes the place of butter or oil yet they still have all the moistness and flavor you'd expect. I topped these with a little turbinado sugar for some added crunch and popped them in the oven. They baked up beautifully in exactly 20 minutes. I never baked with avocado before but now I'm going to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Faith N
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
I was going to rate this 4 stars as I thought they needed a little more flavor but after watching both my kids and my husband (a self-proclaimed avocado hater) go for a 2nd muffin immediately after eating their first - I couldn't put anything less than 5. Healthy and great texture - this is a keeper! We'll play around with some add-ins to see if I can get it perfect (for me anyways ;) )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smoaks, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
The flavor is ok - nice and moist. The middle of my muffins were way too moist so I cooked them longer which made the outside/bottom of them over cook and stick to the muffin cups. Not thrilled with the recipe and probably wouldn't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alesha Walker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North East, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States