Avocado Baked Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
Very easy and healthy to eat. This is also a kid friendly breakfast. You can also use this for a brunch side. However I did mine a full 20 mins. At 450F. It's perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DDS1050

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by carlsbl
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
After a few changes I really like this. One is I placed the ramekins in a pan of water while cooking, cooking time will likely need to be increased if you use refrigerated ingredients, and I didn't carve out the avocado. I cracked the egg into the avocado and used a thin knife to cut the white and let it run down in the ramekin. I also seasoned the entire avocado half, inside and out with seasoned salt. I added some chopped precooked turkey sausage. And sprinkled a little finely diced onion over them, a few slivers of Parmesan cheese, and topped with a little paprika for color. What's not to like? Mmmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Freeport, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
We've been watching recipes for this combo for awhile & always wanted to try it. I have to admit our first attempt was unsatisfactory. However, that was primarily due to: a)our 1st time; b)avocado being too ripe; c) cooking temp too low; d)frustration when adding egg to avocado half & trying to transfer them to the oven without chaos. All I can say is try it more than once & don't be afraid to experiment a little. Because our subsequent meals of baked avocado w/egg & an addition -if any- of choice have been well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
So, another variation... I cut out an egg sized hole out of the avocado (I actually traced the egg with a toothpick), and scooped it out down to the skin (being careful not to pierce the skin). I then used a mortar to grind together 1/2tsp. each of garlic granules, onion granules, ground ginger, sage powder, and 1/4tsp. each of cumin and Australian flake salt. I sprinkled this mixture over the entire avocado, and ground some black pepper on top too. I then added about 1/4-1/2tsp. olive oil to the cavity in the avocado. I scrambled the eggs in a jar (you just put the lid on and shake) then I poured this into the hole; on top of the oil, and seasoning. I then put sliced mushrooms across the top to keep the egg in the avocado while cooking. The oil made the egg rise to about where the other half would have been height wise when done. Once out of the oven I added grated Swiss cheese, and chopped peppers (I used sarano, but any would be good) on top. I then cut each half in half (effectively quartering the avocado), and took the peel off before serving. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
MAKE SURE YOU GREASE YOUR RAMEKIN!!! My family loved this recipe. My 4 year old who hates everything except sweets, bacon and guacamole, loved it and ate every single bite. I did remove some of the avocado to make extra room for the egg and still didn't have enough room, a little ran under the avocado. I used the extra to make a little guac to eat with it. I topped it with a little queso fresco and the guac and a little sour cream. The roasted avocado flavor was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ronald
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Outstanding
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
Served with hollendaise sauce.Outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Englewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
Great!! I added anchovies on top of the avocado and egg. Very decadent and silky smooth texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
I just made this! It was amazing. I found by removing some of the egg white before putting it in the avacado worked better. It cooked In 15 minutes for me but I have a convection oven. I used cheese and bacon. I'm still drooling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole F

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Great base! I used garlic salt, pepper, and a bit of seasoning salt as well (very little). Make sure to season the avacado hole prior to putting the egg in, then season the egg as well. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rin C

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Individual Baked Eggs

Use a muffin tin to make simple baked egg, bacon, and cheese "muffins."

Chef John's Baked Eggs

See how to make spicy baked eggs for breakfast, lunch, or dinner!

Baked Tortilla Chips

Homemade tortilla chips with cumin and lime juice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States