Avocado Baked Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
Hmmm thought this would work...Pretty but not a winner for us. It took 30 minutes (checked them earlier and the yolk was done but the white was liquid) to cook the eggs through and it really had an unappealing outcome. Just not our taste I guess, and we love every ingredient in this....just not the sum of the ingredients and method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2013
Made this recipe today according to instructions. First off, don't use x-tra large eggs. This was all I had so had to remove some of the egg white in order not to spill over. (And yes, I carved out more space in the avacado). There is no way this dish is ready after 15 mins of baking. Unless you want to eat runny egg whites. I baked mine for 35 mins. The final end product just was not that tasty. It may work better to add onions and cilantro ie to avacado and bake and simply add a fresh cooked egg on top after baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Long Beach

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
Very easy and healthy to eat. This is also a kid friendly breakfast. You can also use this for a brunch side. However I did mine a full 20 mins. At 450F. It's perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DDS1050

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
Good recipe, very tasty. I added a thin slice of cheddar on top. It took 30 minutes for the egg white to set at 425 degrees. One does have to scoop out more avocado than one imagines in order for a medium size egg to fit without spilling over. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
We've been watching recipes for this combo for awhile & always wanted to try it. I have to admit our first attempt was unsatisfactory. However, that was primarily due to: a)our 1st time; b)avocado being too ripe; c) cooking temp too low; d)frustration when adding egg to avocado half & trying to transfer them to the oven without chaos. All I can say is try it more than once & don't be afraid to experiment a little. Because our subsequent meals of baked avocado w/egg & an addition -if any- of choice have been well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by carlsbl
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
After a few changes I really like this. One is I placed the ramekins in a pan of water while cooking, cooking time will likely need to be increased if you use refrigerated ingredients, and I didn't carve out the avocado. I cracked the egg into the avocado and used a thin knife to cut the white and let it run down in the ramekin. I also seasoned the entire avocado half, inside and out with seasoned salt. I added some chopped precooked turkey sausage. And sprinkled a little finely diced onion over them, a few slivers of Parmesan cheese, and topped with a little paprika for color. What's not to like? Mmmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Algonquin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Fun idea. The recipe does not work as written, which is why I can't give more than two stars. You have to make extra room for the egg in the avocado (and figure out what to do with the avocado you carved out). It also, as noted previously, takes more than 15 minutes to bake. So don't let the super easy looking recipe fool you. If you had a sense this was too good to be true - just pop pit out of avocado, enter egg, and bake a mere 15 minutes - go with your sense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I liked this...I have been wanting to try this recipe for awhile... and now that the avocados are in season.. seemed like a great time. I used some of suggestions from other raters. I scooped out some of the avocado for the egg eyeballing how much needed to come out, this will vary depending on the size of avocado and egg. I cracked my egg into a teacup, and then scooped out the yolk, and put it in the avocado hole.. and then added the egg white til the opening was full. Some did seep out into the ramekin..but like one rater suggested I added a bit of water and let it poach. As another rater suggested I salt/peppered/garlic powdered the entire avocado before adding egg, then sprinkled egg with seasoning also. Once baked I added a nice dollop of salsa to the top. It was Yummy. I think you just have to tweek this recipe til you get it how you like it. I think melted cheese and a bit of sour cream would make this yummy too. As for what to do with the scooped out avocado.. I say... EAT it... Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I am not impressed. The avocado needs something for taste. I sprinkled garlic salt on the egg but it didn't help with the tasteless avocado. Cooking time was 20 minutes. The egg was still runny at 15 minutes but by 20 it was rubbery. I might try the other half tomorrow. I will put a little lime juice and salt on the avocado, more seasoning on the egg, and cover it during cooking so the egg doesn't get rubbery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sfbailie
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
It was good! But 15 minutes is not enough. About 30 is good. The surface of the egg was cooked but underneath it was still runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Individual Baked Eggs

Use a muffin tin to make simple baked egg, bacon, and cheese "muffins."

Chef John's Baked Eggs

See how to make spicy baked eggs for breakfast, lunch, or dinner!

Dannon Oikos Curried Deviled Eggs

Zesty deviled eggs are a hit at potlucks, picnics, or as a party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States