Avocado Baked Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
To everyone talking about this being bland and that this needs sour cream and melted cheese - this is actually a paleo diet staple and that's where this recipe originally started to take off. It's meant to be a healthy breakfast and you can add your own toppings. Yes, healthy fresh food is actually less flavorful than processed foods smothered in dairy products. That's where spices come in. I needed to cook these twice as long as the recipe calls for, but maybe it needs to specify that they are room temperature products as I had mine refrigerated. I nixed the bacon, added lots of garlic powder and pepper, and a bit of sea salt and dill. Smothered it in organic salsa and it was delicious! Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miriam Letoto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Not tasty at all. The egg was fine with some of the topping choices suggested by readers. Not attempting this one again. Not the right flavor combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Great base! I used garlic salt, pepper, and a bit of seasoning salt as well (very little). Make sure to season the avacado hole prior to putting the egg in, then season the egg as well. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rin C

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
Tried this recipe this morning, and the avocado was bitter and left an bitter after-taste. Ate the other half of the avocado (fresh) to see if it was the avocado and it tasted normal. Would never bake an avocado again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Very very bland even after seasoning the heck out of it. Avocado is bland. Next time I would wisk the eggs, add peppers, onions, maybe salsa, bake at least 30 min for egg to cook and top with sour cream and more cheese. It was edible, just not the taste sensation I had hoped for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginn Hodgdon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I had to cook them for 30 minutes for the egg whites to set. And I topped them off with some Pico de Gallo. Was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul Robertson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
so sad with the way this turned out, I've been looking forward to trying this for awhile. like many have said 15 mins is no where near enough time to cook the white of the egg, and by the time it is cooked the yolk is WAY done which looses the best part of the egg. Also there is a very odd flavor that you get with the cooked avo and egg (not sure what is the cause). Season just the top of egg was not enough because the avo was tasteless :( I will just stick to a poaching or frying an egg and topping with fresh avo next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tasha Rose-Murphy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I really liked the recipe with a few changed. I added chopped onions (which I baked with the egg the entire time) and would do without the cayenne pepper. Next time, I will carve out more of the avocado to make more room for the egg and also add tomatoes. I cooked the turkey bacon inside of the egg and avocado also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
I just made this! It was amazing. I found by removing some of the egg white before putting it in the avacado worked better. It cooked In 15 minutes for me but I have a convection oven. I used cheese and bacon. I'm still drooling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole F

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Very tasty, I changed up the recipe a bit and minced up garlic and pushed it inside the avocado and I did the same with a red bell pepper, then seasoned it with johnny's and chili powder, then put the egg (which did fall out so a way to stabilize the avocado is the key, then I topped with mozzarella cheese. :D Tastyy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josolynn Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Individual Baked Eggs

Use a muffin tin to make simple baked egg, bacon, and cheese "muffins."

Chef John's Baked Eggs

See how to make spicy baked eggs for breakfast, lunch, or dinner!

Di's Delicious Deluxe Deviled Eggs

See how to make zesty, creamy deviled eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States