Avocado and Tuna Tapas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
I was hesitant to make this at first but I was hungry, had all the ingredients at hand and really didn't feel like eating fastfood. This is soo good. I even got an "mmm..mmm" from my hubby. Although I am not a big fan of canned tuna I do love avocados and keep finding ways to make it a part of my diet. Avocados are loaded with MUFA's (mono-unsaturated fat -->the good kind) which actually helps your body get rid of the "bad" fat. So Gracias for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ait0shi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okinawa, Okinawa, Japan
Living In: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
I turned this into a salad by putting the tuna mixture on a bed of spinach that I had dressed with a simple olive oil/lemmon juice dressing. I sliced the avocado and placed it around the mound of tuna. Very nice presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
I also used this recipe to make a salad and made a few changes. I layered the bottom with lettuce. Added some lemon juice to the tuna mix. Then topped off with avocado and tomato slices. Turned out to be delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
I made this for a Spanish Tapas party, so I had to change the recipe slightly: 2 tortilla shells, butter both sides and heat on griddle to make crispy. I then basically doubled the recipe (except I only needed 3 avocados and 3/4 red bell pepper and 4-5 green onions) Cut the tortilla shells into eighths, place an avocado slice on the tortilla shell, top with a spoonful of the tuna mixture (I used a cookie scoop), and I placed a fresh cilantro leaf on top. This made smaller portions for many hands at the party. It was a huge hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
Very good. I'm always looking for something different, healthy and quick for lunch. I used diet mayo and sliced the avocado into the tuna mix, then put it, open faced, onto a toasted whole wheat english muffin. Presentation was not as nice, but it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by c-biskit
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
Excellent. A terrific starter or lunch. Full of flavor. Quick and easy to make with a few great ingredients. This is the way to cook and eat! I love it! We drank this with a Spanish white wine, Xarmant Txakoli (It's Basque. It was a nice wine. But better by its nature (bright, fresh, slightly effervescent, lowish in alcohol) with the Sizzling Sherry Shrimp with Garlic (also on Allrecipes). Next time I'll try a wine that's a little richer with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by c-biskit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
The tuna salad mixture is so good! I didn't have green onion, so I substituted finely chopped vidaila onion instead and it's still fabulous! I never thought to use basalmic vinegar and the avocado provides the perfect balance! This is so good and will become a regular lunchtime staple! Even after my gastric bypass, when my food choices are limited and I've developed aversions to certain foods, this is a perfect little meal for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traskwood, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
awesome - but don't try to save time and food processor chop the red peppers, makes them runny and whole thing red and nasty looking. HAND CHOP the red peppers and use celtic sea salt - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tasha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aransas Pass, Texas, USA
Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
This is perfect!!! A great light meal. I added some fresh lemon juice and salt. I also didn't have perfectly ripe avocados so I sliced some of the bottom off the avocado to create a flat surface. This prevent the avacado half from rolling around on the plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Delicious, easy and healthy! I made this for a Spanish themed Cooking Club gathering and it was a huge hit. I added a couple of extra dashes of balsamic vinegar and included chopped cilantro to the mix, but other than that, followed the recipe exactly. Will definitely make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Tuna Melt

Watch Chef John make the world’s tastiest tuna melt.

How to Make Tapas

See how to make two types of traditional tapas.

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States