Avocado and Tuna Tapas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Very easy, quick and tasty. As we were having this for dinner, I scooped out all the avocado, mixed half in with the tuna which I put over mixed greens and then sprinkled the other half of the diced avocado over that along with some halved cherry tomatoes with a few extra dashes of balsamic. I see this becoming part of the summertime rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
This is very very good, but I choped up the avocados, and topped the tuna mix with them... all on top of a bed of baby spinach as another reviewer suggested. No additional dressing needed, in fact I think any more seasoning would overwhelm the simple flavor of the avocados that really makes this dish so perfect. I'm sure its god the way its written, but I think the chopped up way is a lot easier to deal with at the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aiea, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Thanks for the idea! I had everything but red pepper, and I did end up putting everything over some mixed greens since I wanted to use them up. It was quite tasty, I never would have thought to put all of these ingredients together. I think the red pepper would have been more important if I hadn't had the meal over mixed greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
Even my kids that don't like tuna liked it this way. Something about the avocado makes tuna way better than it is on it's own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Delicious, easy and healthy! I made this for a Spanish themed Cooking Club gathering and it was a huge hit. I added a couple of extra dashes of balsamic vinegar and included chopped cilantro to the mix, but other than that, followed the recipe exactly. Will definitely make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
These were pretty wonderful - rather filling, and easy to make (I admit I thought I could polish off two halves stuffed with tuna, but could only go through one half at a time!). I doubled the recipe - used one whole pepper, and 5-6 green onions. A great, healthy midday snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
This was amazing and satisfying! My husband thought it was a tad too creamy for him but he doesn't like mayo! I didn't have green onion on hand so I used finely diced red onion. I also used a few drops of greek style vinaigrette instead of balsamic vinegar. This has become my favorite way to use tuna and avocado together, thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
YUMMY!! I'm vegan, so I used this wonderful product called VegeTuna. I also diced my avocados and then scooped them out and mixed them in (gently) with the "tuna" mixture. I caved to peer pressure and added a 1/2 tsp. of lemon juice and went rogue by adding a few dashes of (vegan) Bacon Salt. It turned out goooood! Awesome summer meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smallu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
I made a whole tapas lunch today and this was a good starter. Fresh, simple, nice to look at and above all, tasty. I forgot to add the pepper, which I think would have added a bit of necessary zest, but that's my fault and not the recipes. A great appetizer idea, as serving in the shells makes it easy to hold and eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
I made this for a Spanish Tapas party, so I had to change the recipe slightly: 2 tortilla shells, butter both sides and heat on griddle to make crispy. I then basically doubled the recipe (except I only needed 3 avocados and 3/4 red bell pepper and 4-5 green onions) Cut the tortilla shells into eighths, place an avocado slice on the tortilla shell, top with a spoonful of the tuna mixture (I used a cookie scoop), and I placed a fresh cilantro leaf on top. This made smaller portions for many hands at the party. It was a huge hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Tuna Melt

Watch Chef John make the world’s tastiest tuna melt.

How to Make Tapas

See how to make two types of traditional tapas.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States